Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I gave this cake two stars because it was fairly easy to make and was edible. Keep looking there are better recipes for cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgilbo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This cake is super easy and comes out perfectly as long as you follow the mixing directions. I like to add bananas before the vanilla step and it makes a delicous banana cake! One banana or two depending on your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Yuck, this turned out dry and nasty. My kids wouldnt even eat it. I had to throw away the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This has become my go to recipe for white cake. OK,so maybe its not a TRUE white cake because the yolks are added but it is close enough. It comes together easy and comes out delicious. Everyone I make it for loves it! It does have a tendency to be on the heavy side. I have been asked it it is pound cake. I think I will try adding a little more milk as it seems to have worked for other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Maybe I did something horribly wrong, but the cake had the consistency/texture of cornbread, and it didn't rise properly. I had to scramble for a different recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very moist and delicious. I doubled the recipe, layered the cake and then made choclate icing to frost. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Just made this and figured out how many calories it is so I made these in cupcake papers I put two tbsp of the batter in each one so one cupcake is 175 calories half a cupcake is 87.5 calories and half of 1 half is 43.75 calories haven't tried the cupcakes yet hopefully they taste all right I mean I tasted the batter it tasted good also I replaced he butter with margarine because of less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this several times... But I recently moved and lost my cookbook, I couldn't find a good chocolate chip muffin recipe so... I threw mini chocolate chips in. They were wonderful. Such a good recipe. I did use cake flour. But other then that never changed recipe. Except for chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Best vanilla cake... Great size for smaller family . Easy and quick to make. I didn't mix together baking powder and flour seperae ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newhousewife
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I was looking for a white cake recipe to make pineapple upside down cake (and iv never made it before) and I have this a try... It was awesome!!! As I preheated the oven I put 1/3 cup of Margerine in the pan (9x13) and put it in the oven to melt, once it was melted I mixed the Margerine with 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and put the pineapple rings on top... I made the cake batter as directed, but added a splash of orange juice( I didn't have pineapple juice) and poured the batter on top of the pineapple rings and baked as directed... So yummy! Moist, not too heavy and the pineapples caramelized perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States