Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Maybe it comes out better as cupcakes. My friend and I both tried it and it was more like a coffee cake. Not at all what we thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
My sister made this for my mother's birthday celebration and the taste was very good. It was a little dry but that can easily be fixed with a great filling and frosting. It's a wonderful cake, taste really homemade and according to my sister quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was an easy recipe just not all that flavorfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This cake was very simple! actually i made the cupcaked. The batter was thicker then a boxed cake mix and rich tasting. They baked up very nice. The color was more of a yellow cake..like a corn bread. Not light and fluffy....very heavy and the longer they sit...the drier they became(and i dont mean longer then 2 days)I liked hem best fresh from the oven with no frosting. I probably wont make them again...but continue searching for a nice white fluffy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
Everyone at the office and at home loved this cake (I used the cupcake version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
fantstic for kids, easy and tasty! We added lemon to make a lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
I made this with cupcakes, it is a really good recipe. I put 3 tbs. of sprinkles in the batter so the cupcakes would come out speckled. it worked well! i used another recipe i found on this site for frosting: i used buttercream frosting 2, i think thats what its called. it worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I needed this in a pinch and it came through for me. It was quick and tasty. I poured hot fudge sauce over the top and even my child gobbled it up. However, it is more yellow than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
It is easy to make and I enjoyed, but my food critics at home didn't enjoy it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Super simple! I made it with a half recipe of "Banana Butter Icing," also from this Web site, and served it to a very happy two-year-old birthday boy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States