Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made cupcakes with this recipe tonight, and although I always tweak recipes, and I did this one a bit, this is THE best vanilla cake ever. Try it and then try a box cake and you can actually taste an after taste with the box cake! I doubled the recipe so I could make 24 cupcakes, and I had enough batter to fill three miniature loaf pans as well. I increased the vanilla to 1 TBLSP (2 TB) and the milk to 3/4 C (1 1/2). This will be my white cake from now on. Now to find a frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this for my sons birthday party and despite following all the directions it came out dry. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I put the extra 1/4 cup of milk and used country crock instead of butter because it happened to be in my fridge. It was delicious. I am not an avid baker but I am picky. It was light and fluffy and tasty. I had company It is almost all gone. I put orange frosting on it with dried cranberries and strawberries. It was totally awesome. Iwas impressed with how delicious it was due to thereviews about it being heavy and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was my second tester cake and it turned out delicious! I used 3/4 c milk and baked in a 9" round for about 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a 13x10 baking dish. Used a one pound RUSSELL STOVERS chocolate bar mixed with milk for the icing !! Don't get ony of this cake on your face , because if you do, your tongue will beat you to death , trying to get to the cake !! Best cake recipe I have made so far !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Mccrory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Follow the recipe and don't let the bad reviews daunt you!!!! Just made this to a T and it came out wonderful! Take the time to do all the steps correctly and you'll be fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
WOW! I can't believe how good this is! I'm SO against partially hydrogenated oils that the store brands put in their mixes so decided to give this a try and was very pleased. I doubled the recipe for a 13x11 cake and it baked up nicely! Based on other reviews, I made sure to take my time mixing all the ingredients well. I made a green poke cake for St. Patty's day using the Poor Man's Frosting from this site ('cuz store brands have transfats/HFC) and it turned out very good!! See my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Everyone loved it as mini muffins but the cake seemed a bit much, but the 1 person that doesn't like cake, He sure seemed to like this one :) for me I find it tastes like a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by telymuster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Was going to follow others' suggestions and use 2x the milk, but read the directions wrong and used the actual recipe amount. Cake ended up fine! Used a tad more vanilla than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States