Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
great recipe!! added a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise to make it nice and moist and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This cake is good as is if you whip the eggs and butter long enough, but it could be better. I graduated pastry school and am always on the hunt for a perfect white cake- even in school we use a chiffon cake, which just isn't the same. I would suggest making the following changes: have ALL ingredients at room temperature. The batter will combine easier this way without overmixing. Whip the eggs in a bowl with a whisk first- until they are paler in color. Then add sugar. I also used 1/2 cup oil instead of butter- this makes it more tender since oil is liquid at room temperature and butter is solid at room temperature. Mix in the oil. Then add 3/4 cups buttermilk. Sift together the dry ingredients and add last. I used 1 3/4 cup cake flour instead of all purpose- it will be less "cornbready". Whatever you do, don't overmix after the flour is added. This will make it tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe twice, once as a cake last night as cupcakes both times it turned out amazing. I increased the milk to 3/4 of a cup after reading other comments and creamed the butter and sugar for around 10 minutes. I will always use this recipe now for my cupcakes and next time I will try adding cocoa powder to make a chocolate version. I will report how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love how simple this is! However the first time I tried it, the cake didn't have much body to it. So instead of a 1/2 cup milk I put 1/4 milk and a 1/4 sour cream. It came out so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I don't understand the negative comments. This recipe is very easy and makes a very moist, fluffy and tasty white cake. At the last minute, I decided to add some chocolate to the batter. It just came out of the oven and I already ate a couple of generous slices. You can serve with fruit, ice cream. I didn't even worry about frosting it. No need. I will be making this again! (Unfortunately I can't post a nice picture of it. Allrecipes doesn't let me to... too much resizing and nothing works) Oh well. There goes the review, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIAEDGAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Perfect for frosting or as strawberry shortcake. Made as stated but there are endless possibilities with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I did add more milk and vanilla as suggested by others. Also replaced 2tbls of flour per cup with corn starch to make it cake flour. Was soooo yummy will be my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawny&Dominic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I tried the recipe w/ the help of the most helpful critical review....w/ 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1/2 cup almond milk & 1/4 cup of sweet vanilla creamer. It was the best vanilla cake I've ever had. I poked holes in it and poured a glaze over it using, 2TB butter, aapproximately 1 cup of confectioner sugar, half teaspoon of vanilla extract and about a teaspoon of water... yes water. It tasted like a lite twinky! Will try again but will make it a rum cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Flowers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed ingredients exactly and then added lavender to the batter. I also topped with homemade powdered sugar icing. This is a great 'canvas'cake for any kind of cake you would like to bake! I will use this again when make a rainbow cake or cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made cupcakes with this recipe tonight, and although I always tweak recipes, and I did this one a bit, this is THE best vanilla cake ever. Try it and then try a box cake and you can actually taste an after taste with the box cake! I doubled the recipe so I could make 24 cupcakes, and I had enough batter to fill three miniature loaf pans as well. I increased the vanilla to 1 TBLSP (2 TB) and the milk to 3/4 C (1 1/2). This will be my white cake from now on. Now to find a frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States