Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this cake twice last night, and both times a double batch for size purposes. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and it came out sort of hard. The second time I added a bit of baking soda and reduced the cook time and it came out soft but firm which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulabelle085
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I used this recipe (exact) to make a batch of cupcakes. The texture of the cake was perfect for the type of cupcakes I was making. When the cupcakes first cooled my first thoughts were they were a little dense and dry. After icing them I decided to refrigerate (due to whipped cream icing). I must say after being chilled a little bit they were very moist and fluffy! Another one of my concerns was there was no salt so I thought the cupcakes may come out too sweet, but it actually wasn't. Also, I only had 2% milk on hand, but I would prefer to use whole. Overall I did like the recipe, but may make some adjustments if I use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
this is the best vanila cake i ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nayana Hazarika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Just made this cake its so good and very easy,Iput fruit at the bottom and the juices from the fruit went into the cake delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
OMG! THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! I made cupcakes a few days ago, but today I decided to put coffee creamer in the cake batter as a substitute for the milk and it came out soooo yummy! I would recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Simple to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is NOT a good recipe. It is dense as most the reviews stated, however, it doesn't not taste cake like at all. It is like a thicker slightly fluffier sugar cookie. Very disappointed. Made 3 batchs, all turned out the same. Though they had risen, they were too dense. Almost pound cake heavy. The sugar cookie taste was over powering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Simple, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
As nice as this cake is, its almost too sweet and too sugary. it is very heavy, like the pound cake you find in the frozen dessert section. if you are looking to sculpt a novelty cake and you want something that wont fall apart, then this is a good dense consistency for such a project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly kerrigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this cake and it was too DENSE! It was hard to cut through and filling. Would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States