Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I have made this cake for my son birthday and turned out delicious (did not change or add anything different from the recipe).The cupcakes I did add a bit more of milk 3/4 in total made it very fluffy and moist! For you, that is tempted to try this recipe...it's worth it! Measured all your ingredients and it will turn it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is my go to white cake recipe. It's fairly simple to make and easy to whip up if you're in a hurry. However I do make some substitutions. Instead of white sugar I use an equal amount of caster sugar and instead of using all purpose flour I use cake flour. To ensure a cake like consistency and not wind up with a cornbread like cake (some other reviewers had this problem) you must beat each step until the ingredients are creamy (without bumps). All in all a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It turns out perfect every time! Very nice simple cake and quite easy to make. Love it1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Simple and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is the best cake ever. PERIOD!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was a very good recipe, and very easy (save for some brutal mixing!) I didn't have many of the issues some of the other people had. My cupcakes were moist, and tall! I followed the recipe, save for adding 1/4c milk, and 2tsp vanilla extra. I also used bread flour (which probably helped the cake to rise more than the others). While mixing, i folded the batter into it's self and tried to make it as fluffy as possible, which i think helped to achieve the perfect texture mine had! The only reason i give this recipe 4 stars, instead of 5 is because the cake is lacking in flavor. I'll try adding orange or lemon zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronna Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe!!! For this I used 2tsp. of almond extract vs vanilla and I added a splash of canola oil to my milk. Also followed the suggestion of adding 1/2 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients. I'll be using this recipe from now on. No more boxed cake mix for me! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I love using this recipe. It has a great and even flavor, great with an accompaniment topping(icing, fruits, whipped cream...). I like using this recipe as my base and then add things into it(fruits, chocolate chips, SPRINKLES:)....). Its a good solid basic white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this for my husbands birthday and I will be going back to this recipe again and again. I doubled the recipe to make a layer cake and subbed in butter milk in place of regular milk. I made a butter cream frosting put raspberry filling in the middle. The key I think is mixing it very well. I heard the word "best cake I've ever had" being said. Next time trying a lemon curd filling with coconut topping yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and despite having to add a little more liquid to the mix,about a 1/4 Cup of water instead of milk,because the mixture was somehow dry,the results were an amazing and delicious cake. I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 2,260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States