Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a 13x10 baking dish. Used a one pound RUSSELL STOVERS chocolate bar mixed with milk for the icing !! Don't get ony of this cake on your face , because if you do, your tongue will beat you to death , trying to get to the cake !! Best cake recipe I have made so far !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Follow the recipe and don't let the bad reviews daunt you!!!! Just made this to a T and it came out wonderful! Take the time to do all the steps correctly and you'll be fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vick Chick
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
WOW! I can't believe how good this is! I'm SO against partially hydrogenated oils that the store brands put in their mixes so decided to give this a try and was very pleased. I doubled the recipe for a 13x11 cake and it baked up nicely! Based on other reviews, I made sure to take my time mixing all the ingredients well. I made a green poke cake for St. Patty's day using the Poor Man's Frosting from this site ('cuz store brands have transfats/HFC) and it turned out very good!! See my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vick Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Everyone loved it as mini muffins but the cake seemed a bit much, but the 1 person that doesn't like cake, He sure seemed to like this one :) for me I find it tastes like a sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by telymuster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Was going to follow others' suggestions and use 2x the milk, but read the directions wrong and used the actual recipe amount. Cake ended up fine! Used a tad more vanilla than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Love it so easy and tasty. I used whole wheat flour and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Terrible. .....no flavor and like cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Super easy and delicious. The key is to really beat the butter and sugar! I did it until it looked like thicker whipped cream. I made sure to mix it well with the eggs and dry ingredients. It really is the key to this cake. I followed the recipe with the added 1/4 of milk that readers suggested and it turned out perfect! I also used almond milk and the nutty flavor worked really well in it. (Can't drink milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
With this recipe I never buy box cake, this is very simple and delicious. I have added additional ingredients such as chocolate chips, toffee bits, cocoa, YUM. Awesome recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 2,262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States