Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy to make and taste absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisaweetom
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for my birthday...Doubled the recipe...Filled the layers with lemon curd and just made a vanilla buttercream. The changes I made were to add 1/2 tsp of salt, a bit of almond extract to cake and frosting, and I also used evaporated milk instead of whole milk...which I increased by 1/4 cup total (so 1 1/4 cup). Very nice cake...dense in texture, rather than light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is my go to recipe for all my occasions. Everyone loves the cupcakes I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Richter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Following all the advice on here, I added an extra 1/4 cup of milk and upped the vanilla to 1 tbsp, and made this into cupcakes--so delicious! They're a bit flat, but super moist, and taste richer and all around better than any boxed mix. I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was my 1st time making this cake . For strawberry short cake .. I will never go back to box baked goods . It's so good from scratch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was okay. Used the recipe to make mini cupcakes. I did increase the milk to 3/4 c, per other reviewers' suggestion. The mix was a little crumbly, rather than moist. Still tasted great, just not quite what I was after. Could have been operator error, as I had skim milk, rather than whole. Would try this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was my first "from scratch" cake and it was absolutely AMAZING! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I tried it took the other reviews and added the extra milk and the cake came out great. It was light and fluffy I used almond extract it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
great recipe!! added a heaping tablespoon of mayonnaise to make it nice and moist and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This cake is good as is if you whip the eggs and butter long enough, but it could be better. I graduated pastry school and am always on the hunt for a perfect white cake- even in school we use a chiffon cake, which just isn't the same. I would suggest making the following changes: have ALL ingredients at room temperature. The batter will combine easier this way without overmixing. Whip the eggs in a bowl with a whisk first- until they are paler in color. Then add sugar. I also used 1/2 cup oil instead of butter- this makes it more tender since oil is liquid at room temperature and butter is solid at room temperature. Mix in the oil. Then add 3/4 cups buttermilk. Sift together the dry ingredients and add last. I used 1 3/4 cup cake flour instead of all purpose- it will be less "cornbready". Whatever you do, don't overmix after the flour is added. This will make it tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States