Simple White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made this for my friends Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! I love this recipe because of how simple it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Thank you for posting this recipe!! I'm a beginner bread maker and I was upset yesterday when I tried a wheat bread that was supposed to be simple, but apparently not for me. So I gave this one a whirl today and it turned out perfectly!! I was absolutely thrilled when every step worked out for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheri dunn
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
it was amazin...turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Was simple and easy. I have never made "bread" but the recipe was easy to follow and simple to make. I especially liked it when it was still warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made the dough exactly like the recipe says. I baked the entire batch in a 7 quart dutch oven, It came out GREAT! When you have half an hour left in the second rise, pre-heat the (cold) oven and dutch oven to 425F. When your bread is ready,I get a little flour on the bottom to keep it from sticking. Pull the dutch oven out of the oven, drop the dough into the hot dutch oven and cover. Bake 45 minutes covered and check the crust color after that. Mine is usually good at 45 minutes. Give it another 5 minutes uncovered to get nicer color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Okay, lesson one,read the entire recipe before starting! I was altering this recipe to make a single garlic herb loaf (I just added garlic powder and Italian seasonings). It wasn't till I saw 1 tablespoon of salt that I began to suspect this might be a rather large recipe... then I saw 8 cups of flour! I ended up with two very large loaves of garlic herb bread to go with my left-over spaghetti! Anyway since then I have cut the recipe in half, and made it several times. Last time I made it into hoagie type rolls for homemade french dips. Today is going to be small dinner rolls for Thanksgiving. Overall I love this recipe, and it has become my base recipe for various types of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macdoel, California, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This bread is fabulous, George. I will admit to proofing the yeast in 1/2 c. of the water and 1 tsp of the sugar first. I just don't have great luck with yeast doughs unless I do. The texture is just beautiful and "fluffy" inside with a slightly thin, crunchy crust that I love. It's also the perfect salt-to-sugar ratio, instead of being as sweet as so many recipes for white bread are. Thanks so very much. This is a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sloeginfiz
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I loved this recipe, the first loaf was gone before the day was done. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
LOVED IT!! I've made many loaves of bread over the past year or so, but this is the first one I decided to make with bread flour instead of all-purpose - and the combination of that and the recipe itself made it my all-time favorite, and my husband's, too! It doesn't even need the butter on top, it's already rich enough, fluffy - just keep in mind, if you're using bread flour instead of all-purpose, you'll need about a cup less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I've tried a lot of different white bread recipes and this one is the best! I cut it in half (one loaf) and used the dough setting in my bread maker. I then formed a loaf, let it rise again and baked it in the oven. It made a large loaf with excellent crust that slices great and doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States