Simple Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2000
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This recipe is so quick & easy. Great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Nice combination of flavors and textures in this salad but I found the dressing way too sour for my liking. Next time I will use less vinegar than called for or maybe leave it out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
The vinegar was a unique touch, although it might be less tart with a lesser amount. I added 1 tsp of sugar to cut the tartness of the vinegar. Next time I'll just cut back on the vinegar a little. Thanks for sharing, Mary...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This was a simple recipe but I had to triple it to feed a family of 4. It wasnt very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I added more apple and celery than the recipe called for. I also plumped the raisins by microwaving them in some water for a minute and toasted the walnuts. I took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the vinegar to about 1 3/4 tablespoons and added about a 1/2 tablespoon of sugar. It turned out tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I followed TYRIX16 suggestions. In a nutshell: I doubled the celery and apple in this recipe and left out the walnuts (had none on hand). I mixed the sugar and vinegar, then as I chopped the 2 apples I tossed them in the mixture to keep them from browning. Then added the celery and plumped raisins. Then the mayonnaise sparingly to cover the ingredients. No need for salt or pepper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
reduced vinegar to 1 T and used 2 t sugar. Used about 3 apples, dried cranberries and pecans because that's what I had around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very simple and delicious. I used two red delicious apples and 1/2 cup of celery. I also added 1/2 cup of red grapes halved. When it came to the dressing I whisked 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 c. Miracle whip, 1/2 tsp. of white sugar, and 1 & 1/2 Tbsp. of cider vinegar vs white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
It's ok. Normally, cider vinegar or lemon juice is used. I made the recipe with half the distilled vinegar and it still seemed strong. I added 1 TBL oj to compensate. Leave the apple peel on, it adds color and texture. I prefer Waldorf Salad II submitted by Penny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States