Simple Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good and we both ate two helpings. It is a little tart especially if you don't use sweet apples. We enjoy sweet tart crisp apples (Cameos). I used lemon juice instead of vinegar, dried cranberries instead of raisins, and pecans instead of walnuts. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It's a big hit! Tried and shared this recipe on my husbands birthday and everybody's loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Know it's not a true Waldorf but my husband can't eat walnuts so I always have to substitute with pecans (works for us) However I go a furher step and add a tin of well-drained chunk tuna for a summer lunch that has everything. Nestled into a lettuce leaf it's a full meal and my family and friends thinks it's great. As I say not a true Waldorf but if you want a meal that pleases and has a great taste try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I've never tried this w/vinegar before. I've always used equal parts of miracle whip & cool whip. Sweet, but a little tang to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
My mom made Waldorf Salad when I was a child. Everything is the same except she used Miracle Whip and no vinegar. It always came out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This is always an easy salad. Also as a thought, take the ingredients and use them in your Chicken Salad. It is a favorite whenever I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious. My family does not like raisins so I used halved grapes. Would share recipe with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I substituted 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon juice for the 2 1/2 tablespoons of vinegar and added more apples. The salad turned out wonderful, not sour at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabin cat
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved this. Plumped the raisins in some screamin hot water while I prepped the rest of ingredients. Used an extra apple, leaving some bright red skin for color and added one more stalk of celery. When serving, I added a few grinds of fresh cinnamon just because I wanted to :) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Whoa - Holy Mayonnaise Batman! Good basic recipe, but the quantities are way off. You can always add more, but it's hard to take away. Try 1/4 c mayo (you can add more to taste), (1/4 cup yogurt optional), 1TBL white or cider vinegar OR 3/4 TBL lemon juice, 2 apples (skin on, cut bite-size), 2 celery stalks diced, 1/2 cup raisins (can be dark, white or combo either as they come or plumped in microwave), 1/2 cup shelled or chopped walnuts, raw or white sugar to taste (1/8 tsp and a time), salt and pepper to taste (little needed at this point, and can skip entirely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States