Simple Vegan Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Can I substitute the soy milk with water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a very good recipe...if you are going to do a gingerbread house that is not going to be eaten. i agree with everyone, there is just to much powdered sugar. I use this sometimes, but not on cupcakes, defiantly not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
It whipped up beautifully in the proportions listed here, with absolutely no trouble at all. I used it on the "Vegan Chocolate Cake" recipe found on allrecipes and it was a HIT-both times I made it. My vegan co-workers raved and raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Easy to mix, but not too tasty! Both of my children would not eat this, even on top of a chocolate cupcake. The consistency was too whipped-I couldn't top my cupcakes, it kept running-I even added more sugar and tried to tweak it, but to no avail. I globbed it on the cupcake, but still did not like it! I will keep looking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
When I changed 12 to 4 servings, it was good and easy to decorate with and on the thicker side of creamy which was helpful when decorating, but it was sugary. Then when I did the full 12 servings like the original recipe called for the frosting was gooey and kept separating no matter how much more sugar I put in it. I thought that was weird. But I loved it the first time i did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I doubled this recipe, used 6.5 cups of powdered sugar, subbed almond milk for the soy & added 1/2 tsp imitation butter flavoring- REALLY GOOD! Used it on cupcakes for my kids birthday & no one knew it was vegan. I'll definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Queen City, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitesboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
oh my god! so gross, i refuse to rate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Just bad. I ended up throwing a majority of it away then adding flour and soy milk to it. Really the confectioners sugar is too too much, it only needs about 1/4 of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
It was too thick,too sugary,and wasn't very creamy. I choose this recipe because I am lactose intolerant,but after tasting this,I think I'll take the chance with regular icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States