Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, though I added my own touches... Used a can of mild chili beans besides the kidneys, and mashed half of each can. Added a 4 oz. can of mild green chilies. Also diced half a green pepper and did not cook it or the onion until all the ingredients were mixed. Cut the water in half to make it thicker and heartier, and added a dash of cinnamon. We are definitely saving this recipe - it is the best we've tried so far! Edit: I've made this a second time now, this time in the slow-cooker. We did not change anything except to add a little more water. We left it on low for the day (8 hrs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This chili is a great version of it on the healthier side! I add some assorted veggies like carrots and peppers and onions to it- 1 cup of each to make it heartier and meet my daily veggie requirements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1047 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Great recipes with these adjustments. Sauteeed chopped onion and minced garlic in olive oil. Then added ground turkey. Cooked with a montreal dry steak seasoning I use with turkey. Added in a little extra tomatoes, left out water & chili powder, added double the cumim, and two tablespoons of brown sugar. Simmered for 2 hrs (checking taste and adjusting seasonings slightly if needed) and served with shreded cheese and crackers for friends and my son. Was *gone* and had recipe requests afterwards. I so adore this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
799 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This chili was perfect for a cold night. While I cooked the turkey meat, I added the onions and garlic. I didn't mash the kidney beans and added a can of black beans and corn. Instead of water, I used chicken broth. You have to tweak this recipe to your liking with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I REALLY liked this! It's a great recipe for ground turkey if you don't want it to taste like turkey--it tastes just like chili. My only suggestion would be to be wary of how much cayenne pepper you put in. I used the called for amount and it was too 'hot' for my son. I'll definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My wife just loved it... To avoid it being too soupy I added a can of chili beans in addition to the kidney beans. To give it a more unique flavor I added: 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg 1/4 teaspoon cinammon 2 seeded and chopped jalapenos 1 seeded and chopped green bell pepper. I also suggest using red onion instead of a white onion. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
very good flavor...Will make again and again and again! used black beans instead of kidney, only because I prefer the presentation of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I only made a few changes (due to what I had in the kitchen). No kidney beans - so I used garbanzo beans. Also, I used frozen, pre-chopped onion (saves time and tears!) and omitted the paprika (was out)...delicious, will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Yummy. I substituted half of the ground turkey with Asian firm tofu (which I left under a weight to drain extra water and then crumbled). I like my chili to be thick so I reduced the water to 1 cup. I didn't think it was very spicy so I added another 1/2 Tablespoon of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This was a HUGE hit with both of my kids and my husband....we all loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States