Simple Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
"Awesome" per my family. I added one diced Poblano pepper and sautéed with the onion. I substituted 2 cups chicken broth for water and pureed one 28 oz can of pinto beans in place of kidney beans. Added one 15 oz can of drained black beans but didn't puree as my family likes some texture. Family said "Most awesome chili ever and has a lot of kick". Not for those who can't handle some heat though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativeglutenfree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was amazing. I made it mostly as listed, except I did not have an onion, used garlic powder because I was being lazy, and added a 4-ounce can of diced jalapenos to kick up the heat. I only used 1 cup of water because I wanted it to be thicker. The consistency was really thick the second day, so I would probably increase to 1 1/2 cups of water next time. This was just a great, simple recipe, very adapatable to add what you want/have. Served with sliced green onions, shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream on top. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. I add a pinch of brown sugar and half a cup of cooked quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I am going to rate this recipe as is. I always follow the recipe exactly. I have made it many times and it is always great. I love that it's easy to make. I love that I don't have to drain the fat from the turkey. Mashing the beans slightly is a great idea! It really thinkens up the soup. All of the ingredients are almost always on hand so you can make it last minute. It's become a staple dinner in our house and provides great left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious! I made slight adjustments though, which I would recommend for a more even balance of ingredients. I added an extra can of beans and didn't mash the second can. Also, I added an extra can of diced tomatoes. Then I only added 1 cup of water instead of 2. I cooked mine in the slow cooker for about 4 hours. It turned out perfect! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a good base to start wirh, but it tastes too much like an Italian meat sauce. To get more of a chili flavor, I leave out the garlic and oregano, use diced tomatoes instead of crushed tomatoes, and only 1 cup of water.I also add at least one extra can of beans (unmashed) and some more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My favorite Chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe - it's relatively simple and easy to tweak. I add a chopped green pepper along with the onion. I cut way back on the water. (I use a half a cup to start and if it ends up needing more later I can always add it). I mash 3/4 of the kidney beans but leave the rest whole. I also add a few tablespoons of Tabasco or whatever other hot sauce we have on hand. Lastly, I let this simmer on low heat for at least 3 hours to let the flavor really soak through. I don't think cooking it for 30-45 minutes really does it justice. All in all it's one of my family's favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The first time was a bit too salty. The second time I diced my own tomatoes and used some left over beans that I cooked. It was quick and easy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RheyganD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
great chili recipe! I make it as is or sometimes add some chopped green roasted chilis and frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States