Simple Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Was Ok. It ended up being a puddle of marshmallow fluff- tasting stuff with some ladyfingers. Overall, though, it tasted good and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the perfect texture and looked just like tiramisu should - however it was just too sweet for my taste. I think next time I will omit the maple syrup and see if that will bring it down for me. Also, it was impossible to halve the lady fingers, they just kept crumbling, so I left them whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I changed a few things too. I used White Chocolate Irish cream instead of maple syrup and cut the amount in half. And vanilla yogurt (heavy type) in stead of sour cream. The lady fingers we a little strong but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent and quick! I've never made a dessert before, so this was my way to get a toe in the pool before diving in. It's cheap, it's easy, and it's easy to get all the ingredients. I used sugar-free syrup and cool whip, so it was even fairly low-cal. As others have mentioned, it's not classic tiramisu, but given that it cost less than $8 for all the ingredients and took less than 15 minutes to prep, AND it could be done by someone who had to ask his Mom what it meant to "fold" the whipped cream in, it's a great idea. My modifications: I ended up using 8 oz of whipped cream instead of 12 as specified, and I think that hurt the filling a bit. I added a bit more whipped cream as a topping and it really leavened out the heaviness of the faux-mascarpone. I also added a glug of Kaluha to the coffee/syrup mix, and will try again later by adding a bit of rum as well. It could use some bite. Finally, it tasted MUCH better after sitting in the fridge for 1 hour than it did after sitting for 15 minutes. I think it gets better as the cream and ladyfingers blend a bit and the mixes soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Gerhardt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a very good recipe, however, as stated, the cream was not sweet enough and even a little tangy, which it is not supposed to be. Next time I will add a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
an easy way to make the classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I loved this recipe! I was having a hard time finding marsacapone (sp?) in my town so I wanted to find a recipe that did not call for it. This was the first one I tried and I am happy I did! My husband had 5-6 helpings of dessert that night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Even though I screwed this up (cream cheese mixture was too soupy as I didn't have frozen whipped topping), our guests still raved over it. I made ladyfingers from scratch (reason it was probably still so great) and the flavors from the maple syrup were really awesome. Will try this again and use the correct whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
The taste was fine, but everything turned out a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I have made this recipe several times since finding it here, and it's always a hit! Like other reviewers, I use half a brick of cream cheese (4 oz.), and in the topping mixture, I use half the listed maple syrup and substitute chocolate syrup for the remaining. I also have problems finding ladyfingers, so use shortbread cookies. I plan to make it this weekend in a sugar free version to be shared with some diabetic friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States