Simple Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
At first I was skeptical about this recipe since it had such wierd ingredients. Namely the syrup. But I tried it because of the lack of eggs. I don't like the idea of eating raw eggs. But it turned out to be wonderful. I liked it so much, I made it for a family party. They all loved it and asked for the recipe. I've made it about 5 times already. And still crave it. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is the absolute best tiramisu recipe, ever. No it isn't Italian restaurant quality, but it is the best homemade tiramisu, you'll ever make. It was fairly easy and everyone loved it. There were no leftovers. Thanks Nancy B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
Delicious! I wasn't sure about the combination of coffee and maple, but it works real well. To add more maple flavor, I added 1/8 - 1/4 tsp. of maple extract. As an alternative, pound cake would be good in place of ladyfingers. My family loved this. It's quick, easy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This was a hit in my household! I did alter the recipe a little. I used french vanilla coolwhip instead of regular coolwhip. I used a shot less water and used one shot of kaluha to mix the 2/3 cup of strong coffee. It turned out wonderful! I will certainly make this again! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Nancy B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I didn't use as much maple syrup in the cream cheese portion, only 2 Tbsp was the perfect amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Great recipe. I used an entire package of cream cheese in the 8x8 dish and adjusted the other filling ingredients accordingly. I also added a layer of ladyfingers with the coffee-maple syrup in the middle of two layers of filling. I loved the fact there is no alcohol in this recipe and my guests enjoyed it also at the dessert buffet after high school graduation. Keeps well and I am having some of the leftovers (not much was left) three days later and even better now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I had to try this. I don't totally regret it, but it's just not that great traditional tiramisu. I didn't care for the maple, and the marscapone cheese was badly missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Tastes a little too cheesy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is truly a great recipe. I tried this recipe yesterday for a party and it was great hit. Thank you for posting it. I made the following changes to make it taste like the real thing. Pour the coffee ( use Gevalia espresso) in a shallow dish, add two teaspoons of rum and a little coffee liquor. Mix well. Now place the ladyfingers until they are soaked. Do not leave them for too long. Take them out when they are still a little crispy on one side. Place them on a clean dish untill the entire dish bottom is covered with the fingers. Now poor the rest of the mixture from the shallow pan a little by little. Reserve about two table spoon of this mixture. Now beat a package of cream cheese with 1 cup of heavy whipping cream, two teaspoon of the reserves coffee mixture and half a cup of golden syrup. I did not use maple syrup because it has a strong flavor. Golden syrup is english and has a great flavor. Taste the mixture and if you like add more syrup to make it sweeter. Now pour the mixture ob top of the layered fingers, spread evenly. Now soft the powdered cocoa on top. Place in the fridge for two hours. You will LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Overall, this recipe is fine. The syrup gives it a little sweetness, but sort of a "what is that?" element to the taste. I made it for an informal get together and got mixed reviews. Some said it was "great" and some said it was "okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States