Simple Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
At first I was skeptical about this recipe since it had such wierd ingredients. Namely the syrup. But I tried it because of the lack of eggs. I don't like the idea of eating raw eggs. But it turned out to be wonderful. I liked it so much, I made it for a family party. They all loved it and asked for the recipe. I've made it about 5 times already. And still crave it. Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This is the absolute best tiramisu recipe, ever. No it isn't Italian restaurant quality, but it is the best homemade tiramisu, you'll ever make. It was fairly easy and everyone loved it. There were no leftovers. Thanks Nancy B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
Delicious! I wasn't sure about the combination of coffee and maple, but it works real well. To add more maple flavor, I added 1/8 - 1/4 tsp. of maple extract. As an alternative, pound cake would be good in place of ladyfingers. My family loved this. It's quick, easy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This was a hit in my household! I did alter the recipe a little. I used french vanilla coolwhip instead of regular coolwhip. I used a shot less water and used one shot of kaluha to mix the 2/3 cup of strong coffee. It turned out wonderful! I will certainly make this again! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Nancy B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I didn't use as much maple syrup in the cream cheese portion, only 2 Tbsp was the perfect amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Great recipe. I used an entire package of cream cheese in the 8x8 dish and adjusted the other filling ingredients accordingly. I also added a layer of ladyfingers with the coffee-maple syrup in the middle of two layers of filling. I loved the fact there is no alcohol in this recipe and my guests enjoyed it also at the dessert buffet after high school graduation. Keeps well and I am having some of the leftovers (not much was left) three days later and even better now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I had to try this. I don't totally regret it, but it's just not that great traditional tiramisu. I didn't care for the maple, and the marscapone cheese was badly missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Tastes a little too cheesy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Overall, this recipe is fine. The syrup gives it a little sweetness, but sort of a "what is that?" element to the taste. I made it for an informal get together and got mixed reviews. Some said it was "great" and some said it was "okay".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Excellent and quick! I've never made a dessert before, so this was my way to get a toe in the pool before diving in. It's cheap, it's easy, and it's easy to get all the ingredients. I used sugar-free syrup and cool whip, so it was even fairly low-cal. As others have mentioned, it's not classic tiramisu, but given that it cost less than $8 for all the ingredients and took less than 15 minutes to prep, AND it could be done by someone who had to ask his Mom what it meant to "fold" the whipped cream in, it's a great idea. My modifications: I ended up using 8 oz of whipped cream instead of 12 as specified, and I think that hurt the filling a bit. I added a bit more whipped cream as a topping and it really leavened out the heaviness of the faux-mascarpone. I also added a glug of Kaluha to the coffee/syrup mix, and will try again later by adding a bit of rum as well. It could use some bite. Finally, it tasted MUCH better after sitting in the fridge for 1 hour than it did after sitting for 15 minutes. I think it gets better as the cream and ladyfingers blend a bit and the mixes soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Gerhardt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Tiramisu Cups

See how to make amazing mini tiramisu treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States