Simple Texas Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
This is an absolutely excellent recipe! The recipe claims to make 1.5 cups, I came up with 3+ cups. It's a good thing, though, my wife didn't notice the cup missing. I can tell this will be a weekly-produced appetizer. A quick tip: be careful not to overblend (liquefy), I accidentally turned my blender on high for a brief period and it liquefied the salsa. It is still GREAT, but I prefer a chunkier salsa texture. Thanks so much for your contribution to my household! By the way, I figured that it cost $4.00 (WA St.) to make 3+ cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I really enjoyed this salsa. I did make a few changes, I used two regular tomatoes drained and 1 can of stewed tomatoes, used an extra clove of garlic, added some green onion and two extra serranos for more heat, and a tablespoon of lime juice. I might just use all fresh tomatoes next time, since I could taste the "canned tomato" but it was still delicious. I may also dice half the ingredients and pulse the other half next time so it comes out chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Always hunting for the best tasting jarred salsa and never finding it, I decided to try making it myself. My hunt is over!! This is hands down the best salsa I've tasted, even better than the home-made salsas I've had at restaurants. I modified it a bit, I used 3 cloves garlic, one can of stewed tomatoes and chopped 4 plum tomatoes as I like having some fresh tomatoes, 1 serrano chili and 1 jalapeno and a bit extra chive. Next time I'll just do 2 serranos as I could have had it a bit hotter, this was about medium heat. But otherwise, this is perfect salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I thought this was a really great starter recipe. The stewed tomatoes definitely made it too sweet, but the addition of lime juice made all the difference. A little mild for my tastes - next time I'll probably leave the seeds from one of the peppers in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
This was way easier than I thought it would be,and it was very popular at my party...tastes much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
AWESOME!!! I finally have a recipe to make authentic restaurant style salsa. I tried so many recipes, but no luck until this one. I used canned whole peeled tomatoes packed in tomato juice, I drained most of juice (not stewed tomatoes). I used a few tabs of regular chopped oniom instead of the green onion. I used 1 whole habernero pepper (seeds removed). I pulsed the ingredients in the food processor for a thick slightly chunky consistency. Pretty hot, use less pepper for a milder salsa. This recipe is PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made this as written, and thought it was great, but not perfect. I added some water, some tomato paste from a tube, and some sugar. The extra water, tomato paste, and sugar were because the serranos I had turned out to be SUPER hot and my husband (who loves hot things) requested I "thin it out so his nose wouldn't run" and so that's how I toned down the heat. I think that this is very close to perfect, though I do feel that the chives contributed nothing that a regular onion wouldn't also have contributed, though, so while I will make this again, I'll use a regular onion (the whole thing, too, I hate the "half an onion" measurements). My salsa looks identical to the only picture posted of this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent salsa and easy to make. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is a great salsa!! Easy to adjust the ingredients to your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I loved this Salsa, I made it for a party we had, and I know I am making it for my son's birthday party (there will be lots of people). I think it's the best salsa I've ever had. I used to make my husband go out to Mexican Restuarants to get me salsa and cheese dip almost 3 times a week while I was pregnant, so I had my share lol. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States