Simple Texas Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
A great "winter" salsa when the fresh tomatoes aren't very good! I add a small amount of onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Always hunting for the best tasting jarred salsa and never finding it, I decided to try making it myself. My hunt is over!! This is hands down the best salsa I've tasted, even better than the home-made salsas I've had at restaurants. I modified it a bit, I used 3 cloves garlic, one can of stewed tomatoes and chopped 4 plum tomatoes as I like having some fresh tomatoes, 1 serrano chili and 1 jalapeno and a bit extra chive. Next time I'll just do 2 serranos as I could have had it a bit hotter, this was about medium heat. But otherwise, this is perfect salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This salsa was wonderful. We had some people over for a game of poker and they loved it. I added a few more tablespoons of chives because I love the flavor. This is one recipe that I am keeping for the long run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
It was pretty good. I ended up having a ton left over ... it kept well in the fridge for a week or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Excellent salsa! I used only one can of stewed tomatoes & three small ripe tomatoes, because I like the taste of fresh, uncooked tomatoes. I also forgot the cilantro, which is usually my favorite ingredient in salsa, but it turned out terrific anyway! I used 1/4 of a sweet onion for the chives, because I didn't have any on hand. Also used jalepenos instead of serrano for the same reason. It wasn't as hot this way, so I add a couple of shakes of tobasco to it to fire it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This is a great salsa recipe. I doubled the batch, but only did 3 serrano peppers, added a pablano pepper and added half an onion. Excellent salsa, better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I really liked this. Very good. I added some jalapino's instead of chilis because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Becht Norris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Almost everytime i make salsa its a little bit different, the first time i put 3 serrano peppers instaed of 2 and i didnt have chives so i just added onion and they really liked it, the second time i totally changed it up because i didnt have serrano peppers, just jalapenos and it wasnt spicy enough, but over all we really like the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is s must! I will never make another Salsa again, I just love it. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
After a party, all my friends asked for this recipe! I helped a group of fourth graders at church make this (using canned jalapenos instead of serrano peppers) and theirs came out great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States