Simple Texas Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This salsa is delicious. It was my first attempt at making homemade salsa and I liked the fact that you call it "simple". I didn't have garlic cloves so I used garlic powder and it was still good. I only had jalapeno peppers, so I added 1 without seeds and 1 with all the seeds...the results were great! If it gets too hot I've found you can add another whole or partial can of the tomatos and it will put out some of the flame. I mix it up in my food processor and it takes less than 5 minutes to make the whole batch. I love that! I served it to my family and in-laws at a cookout and my brother-in-law declared it "perfect" and my husband now says he likes my salsa better than any restaurant salsa he's ever had. We have to keep a batch on hand at all times or "there's nothing to eat!" according to my husband! I've told several people where the recipe came from...I'd love to take the credit but I can't so I take the compliment and give away my secret! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this for my wife on her birthday, and we couldn't stop eating it!! We went through an entire bag of chips! This is better than restaurant salsa!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Awesome!!!! I didn't use the chilis but we all loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This is absolutely the BEST!!! I used jalapenos instead of serranos to make it not as hot. This is better than anything out of a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe! It is so easy & super fast to make. My family adores salsa and I can't afford to buy so much and this recipe was rated by my picky family as BETTER THAN THE STORES!!! We have used the recipe many times now with many people and it is a hit with everyone. I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe. Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong but after a few seconds in the blender I had green goop - looked worse than baby food! Needless to say it went in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
We love this salsa! 2 peppers is a little hot for my taste, but my husband loves it. I also used the stewed tomatoes with garlic, jalepenos and cumin mixed in. This is definetely restaurant quality salsa and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
My extended family loves this salsa, and it's so easy to make it! There is never any left after a gathering. My sister first introduced us to it as part of a "theme" Christmas gift. After tasting it, my teenage nephews tried to take everyone else's home with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Pretty good and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Although I don't like salsa, my comments are based on the review of my son, who loves it. He said it is at least as good and probably better than any salsa he has ever had. I used Del Monte stewed tomatoes for chili. Did not have chives, but substituted finely diced onion, about 4-5 Tb, which I browned in a little olive oil along with the garlic before processing with the other ingredients. Also added a spritz of fresh lime juice, one poblano and one jalapeno pepper (in place of the 2 serranos) and some diced, peeled and seeded fresh tomato at the end, after processing all the other ingredients together, to give a fresh taste and chunkier texture. The result was a "mild to medium hot" salsa, according to my son. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, which will be kept and made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States