Simple Texas Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I love this salsa, although I do put a tad more garlic and a tad more Serrano peppers including the seeds. It's exactly what I want my Salsa to taste like and it's so simple, just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Too watery and sweet. I added some lime juice and fresh tomato. Pulse lightly to leave a bit of chunky texture. It still needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
If you use the petite diced tomatoes, you don't even need the blender. We have a brand near us call Dei Fratelli and they almost taste like fresh! Wonderful and a fav at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this. Easy. Reminds me exactly of the salsa of a popular Mexican food restaurant in town. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made this as written, and thought it was great, but not perfect. I added some water, some tomato paste from a tube, and some sugar. The extra water, tomato paste, and sugar were because the serranos I had turned out to be SUPER hot and my husband (who loves hot things) requested I "thin it out so his nose wouldn't run" and so that's how I toned down the heat. I think that this is very close to perfect, though I do feel that the chives contributed nothing that a regular onion wouldn't also have contributed, though, so while I will make this again, I'll use a regular onion (the whole thing, too, I hate the "half an onion" measurements). My salsa looks identical to the only picture posted of this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made this salsa with 2 lg cans of whole Italian tomatoes instead of stewed (they are always awesome) and an extra clove of garlic. OMG..the best salsa ever! Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lombardo Durham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I loved this Salsa, I made it for a party we had, and I know I am making it for my son's birthday party (there will be lots of people). I think it's the best salsa I've ever had. I used to make my husband go out to Mexican Restuarants to get me salsa and cheese dip almost 3 times a week while I was pregnant, so I had my share lol. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned. Added red onion and lime juice. Easy & Tastey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Halcomb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this was a good salsa! I've never use serrano peppers before, and boy are they hot! I made 1 1/2 bateh and I used one large pepper and next time I'll only use 1/2 of one. It definitely left a zing on my lips. I also added a touch of liquid smoke and a couple of green onions! I added quite a bit of salt as I like my salsa more salty than sweet. Maybe a different brand of tomatoes would help that as well. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very good and very easy, a little cilantro heavy for my taste, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States