Simple Texas Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Too watery and sweet. I added some lime juice and fresh tomato. Pulse lightly to leave a bit of chunky texture. It still needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
If you use the petite diced tomatoes, you don't even need the blender. We have a brand near us call Dei Fratelli and they almost taste like fresh! Wonderful and a fav at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved this. Easy. Reminds me exactly of the salsa of a popular Mexican food restaurant in town. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made this as written, and thought it was great, but not perfect. I added some water, some tomato paste from a tube, and some sugar. The extra water, tomato paste, and sugar were because the serranos I had turned out to be SUPER hot and my husband (who loves hot things) requested I "thin it out so his nose wouldn't run" and so that's how I toned down the heat. I think that this is very close to perfect, though I do feel that the chives contributed nothing that a regular onion wouldn't also have contributed, though, so while I will make this again, I'll use a regular onion (the whole thing, too, I hate the "half an onion" measurements). My salsa looks identical to the only picture posted of this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made this salsa with 2 lg cans of whole Italian tomatoes instead of stewed (they are always awesome) and an extra clove of garlic. OMG..the best salsa ever! Thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I loved this Salsa, I made it for a party we had, and I know I am making it for my son's birthday party (there will be lots of people). I think it's the best salsa I've ever had. I used to make my husband go out to Mexican Restuarants to get me salsa and cheese dip almost 3 times a week while I was pregnant, so I had my share lol. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned. Added red onion and lime juice. Easy & Tastey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookins3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this was a good salsa! I've never use serrano peppers before, and boy are they hot! I made 1 1/2 bateh and I used one large pepper and next time I'll only use 1/2 of one. It definitely left a zing on my lips. I also added a touch of liquid smoke and a couple of green onions! I added quite a bit of salt as I like my salsa more salty than sweet. Maybe a different brand of tomatoes would help that as well. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very good and very easy, a little cilantro heavy for my taste, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought it was just okay. Nothing really that great about this recipe. It tasted very bland. Not enough flavor for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States