Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Wow! I haven't used balsamic vinegar lately. I'd forgotten how potent it can be. It virtually overpowered the ruby Swiss chard, and I used a high quality balsamic. Next time, I'll read the reviews first, I usually do, but this looked so easy and good that I skipped that step. I would've known to cut back on vinegar - thought as much as I was pouring it in. I'm sure cutting back will make all the difference and make this a 4 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
No one in my family liked this. Too much wine, not enough butter and the cheese didn't really add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I halved the vinegar and included diced stems (added w/garlic). Pleasantly sweet. Astringent aftertaste -- I don't know if this was from the vinegar or the leaves themselves. Served with a fried egg and pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I use the stems and sautee them for a couple of minutes first and use about 1/2 the balsamic. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made this for lunch today, and it turned out allright. I agree with the reviewers that have said that this amount of basalmic vinegar is too much. It is also really wasteful to discard the stems - if you don't like eating them plain, you can chop them up and saute them for a few minutes extra with the garlic. Also, we added dried cranberries with the garlic as well and our version turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
my toddler eats this up like candy! I always chop the stalks and cook them in the olive oil mix first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My first experience with Swiss Chard, delish! I would probably use a bit less balsamic next time. I did 1 TBSP of coconut oil and 1/4 c. broth. Try it as is, you'll enjoy it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Waaaay too much balsamic for one buncb of chard. Try it with a teaspoon, 2 at most and add more to suit your personal taste, but a quarter cup for one bunch of chard is seriously overdoing (just my opinion, but my family LOVES chard and no one would eat it). Usually for one bunch of chard I will add lime juice as an acid. It is less harsh than balsamic and adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Very nice, basic recipe. I sauteed a few strips of cubed bacon and chopped onion with the garlic. I skipped the salt since the bacon had plenty and added the balsamic when I served it rather than cooking it in to the dish. Yummy! I will mention for those new to chard that you have to wash it very thoroughly as it tends to be sandy/gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ksutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have never had Swiss Chard before, and this was actually delicious. Unfortunately, none of the kids liked it. I might try next time leaving out the balsamic (as other reviewers suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States