Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Call me a purist. If you want to enjoy swiss chard by itself (vs. as part of a casserole, etc), adding most things to it is just a bad idea. The vegetable has such a delicate peppery taste that's delightful by itself - I normally don't even add salt (only pepper) because the salt will mask its natural taste. I decided to give this recipe the benefit of the doubt and used 1/4 of the recommended amount of balsamic vinegar - it completely covered the natural taste of the leaves (couldn't penetrate some of the stalks, thank goodness) and all I could taste was vinegar. My advice? Keep it simple. Saute in garlic and olive oil and add some pepper at the end - that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I thought this recipe was simple, yet good. I changed it a bit. I diced the ribs of rainbow chard and sauted them with diced onion...this gave the dish a bit of crunch. I also had a jar of roasted red peppers and slivered them in when the chard was added. The combo was excellent. I loved the amount of vinegar (our family loves vinegar). I did add a pinch of sugar to offset the acidity. Topped smashed fingerling potatoes with this colorful and yummy wilted chard. And served with a sliced heirloom tomato! YUM! My husband and my 17 month old son LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Hey i dont really see why people are being so negative about this recipe, i think its great! I used half the balsamic vinegar, as others reccomended, and i poured the excess liquid before serving, and it turned out lovely. If your worried about the vinegar becoming too overpowering, remember to not use strong balsamic vinegar. I highly reccomend adding a pinch of sugar, to combat the vinegars acidity. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
A neighbor gave us some Swiss Chard. We had never had it before so I looked up recipes. We made this one and loved it! It has a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michiganfoodie
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very tasty, be sure to use a good quality balsamic. I used the stems of the swiss chard, why waste them. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Holy cow! That was good! My kids ate this!!! I didn't make enough thinking they wouldn't even look at it, let alone taste it. I will have to make it again soon so I can have some! Thanks for a great recipe I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I love Swiss chard and I made a point of cutting way down on the Balsmic vinegar due to other reviews. I am giving it 2 stars due to the good idea of olive oil and garlic, but the Balsamic vinegar ruined it for me! I only used TWO TEASPOONS and that was too much! I will stick with S&P and a little butter on the chard when serving. Why ruin garden fresh greens with vinegar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was great. I added less vinegar and cooked the stems first before adding the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I liked this, nice and easy. Didn't have any red balsamic on hand, so I used white, which may have been too sweet... still, I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
ABsolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States