Simple Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The balsamic vinegar was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Quick, easy, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was great. I added less vinegar and cooked the stems first before adding the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I love balsamic vinegar, but this recipe just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed it just as written, but added some leftover grilled chicken to the pan right before it was done to add some protien. It came out great and was done in less than 10 mins from start to finish! Great week night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I added maybe a 4th of the balsamic vinegar as opposed to the whole thing. Good, simple recipe for swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I had been wanting to try chard and this seemed like a perfect start. I followed the recipe exactly (save adding a little bit of sugar as others suggested) and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love Swiss chard, but the balsamic vinegar was OVERWHELMING. I think I will use maybe 1 or 2 tablespoons next time. This was edible after we drained it and added parmesan to the top, but this amount of vinegar is just was too much and overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Call me a purist. If you want to enjoy swiss chard by itself (vs. as part of a casserole, etc), adding most things to it is just a bad idea. The vegetable has such a delicate peppery taste that's delightful by itself - I normally don't even add salt (only pepper) because the salt will mask its natural taste. I decided to give this recipe the benefit of the doubt and used 1/4 of the recommended amount of balsamic vinegar - it completely covered the natural taste of the leaves (couldn't penetrate some of the stalks, thank goodness) and all I could taste was vinegar. My advice? Keep it simple. Saute in garlic and olive oil and add some pepper at the end - that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Excellent and so simple! The flavour was wonderful, and my family enjoyed it. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States