Simple Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Really nice! I wanted to keep the soup as natural as possible so just used water instead of stock and, as I'm not overly fond of ginger, I only used a dessert spoon rather than the suggested tablespoon. I added a little salt and pepper too. No lime as I didn't have any. After the potatoes had been boiling for around 25 mins I strained them, keeping the liquid, and then mashed them. Then, I added the liquid in stages alternating with milk until I got the desired consistency. Really yummy and just the right amount of spice for me! Would certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I thought this recipe really lacked flavor. I tried to spice it up by using pepper, nutmeg and cinnamon. Didn't work. I wouldn't bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a great soup. Very simple and tasty. I would add a little bit of spice though, if you don't it can come out a little bland. Spice it to your taste! Great on rainy days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverwind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have never given a recipe a bad review, but this one was quite disappointing. The only upside is that it's very easy to make. The taste is very bland, and the texture as well as the appearance resemble baby food. I tried adding extra chicken stock, salt and pepper, and it still tastes like liquified sweet potatoes. Unless you absolutely LOVE plain old sweet potatoes, I would steer clear of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
It was very simple and very tasty. The only complaint I heard was that it looked like baby food. I'm sure that could be fixed with better presentation. A little garnish would help. Also, it wasn't really clear in the directions if I should blend the potatoes and lime alone or with the stock. I used just enough water to cover the potatoes. I was worried it would be to runny with all the stock but it was perfect. I still added a little milk at the end. Please make it more clear next time for dummies like me. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
At first I really liked this dish. I used chicken stock and slightly less milk. My boyfriend didn't finish his bowl because it was "too lime-y" I thought it was great, but the next day when I attempted to have it for lunch, the acidity made it taste too sour and taste rancid. I like how simple it is, but next time I will find another way to use up the leftover sweet potatoes. If you are going to make this dish, make sure your family likes sweet potatoes and make sure you don't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This soup was delicious. The ginger and lime gave it a surprising kick. Add only as much milk as to your taste, then add some cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe was very good. I thought it was going to be very bland on the other hand it was very good. I advise not to use a whole lime for the recipe but other than that it was awsome with some crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was awful, what a waste of ingredients. The lime and ginger taste were overpowering, especially the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is a great and simple soup. It's easy to make, and tastes delicious. The ginger is just the right amount so it makes it very flavorful, but it isn't overpowering. I added a little extra water (about 1 cup) just to cover the potatoes (I probably had more than the called for amount). Its a great smooth texture and not too thick. Really good, especially if you love sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States