Simple Summer Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I didn't bother to add ice (the berries were frozen which eliminated the need for ice) and I did not add the honey. My banana was plenty ripe which made the smoothie naturally sweet without having to add honey or extra sugar. DELICIOUS and very filling. The boys and I really enjoyed this smoothie. I might try to freeze this during the summer to make quick yogurt pops. I think this would make a great cool summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this smoothie. The only things I did not add was the ice cubes and honey. I added a little pineapple to make it sweeter. I thought it was a little bitter. I did think it was a little seedy, but it also could of been my blender. I think its about to give out on me. I will make this smoothie again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These were great and you can use different kind of juice it you want it a bit sweeter instead of tangy try pineapple juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I made this with a friend, minus the cherries, and it was delicious! We each had 2 cups. Drank them out of fun wine glasses & had a great time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
So refreshing and delicious! I used fresh squeezed orange juice, fat free plain yogurt instead of vanilla and protein supplement instead of honey. Also, I didn't have cherries, so I used frozen raspberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great flavor and very refreshing! I used frozen banana, blueberries and cherries, and fresh strawberries, plain yogurt and added about 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I probably used less orange juice, as I was leery of the citrus flavor, but then added a splash of skim milk to get the right texture. I also skipped the ice, as most of my fruit was frozen so I didn't think I needed it, and sweetened to taste with agave nectar. I had frozen fresh cherries specifically to try in a smoothie, and this recipe is a perfect example of how to use them that way! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
It was good. I used blackberries and strawberries instead of blueberries and cherries. I may add a little splenda next time or maybe more honey because it was a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne Dickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Delicious and refreshing! I too skipped the cherries, and used blackberries instead of the blue. Will make this all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This had a good flavor, but a couple of points. One, it was a bit on the tart side, and therefore I don't really consider the honey optional. I'm not sure more honey would help. It seems to need more or less of... something else, don't know what. I notice many leaving out the cherries. The bigger problem is that it's hard to mix. The ice is needed since there's very little liquid. As to the person with the old blender - not sure it's the blender - there just isn't a lot of liquid to mix the fruit smooth. I managed, and the ice was pure liquid by time I was done, but it's definitely easy getting it smooth with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I omitted the frozen cherries (as I didn't have any) and the honey, but this was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States