Simple Stromboli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This turned out great! I was afraid it would be doughy in the middle but it wasn't and now my brain is thinking of all the possibilities that can be used for filling. I used my own pizza dough recipe and I buy pre-cooked crumbled pizza sausage, so I used that and leftover ham sliced thinly. I'm thinking about using crumbled ground beef, onions and white american cheese for cheese-steak like flavor. Also considering canned sliced apples or cherries for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I couldn't find frozen bread dough anywhere. So I used the refrigerated croissant dough. I smashed it into a ball and then rolled it out with a rolling pin. I placed all the meat (ham, salami, peperoni, crumbled Italian sausage) and cheese to the outer edge of this now rectangle shaped dough and rolled it up, pinching the ends and seams to keep the contents inside. I baked it for 17 minutes and lightly buttered the top when I took it out of the oven. Yummy with or without the marinara sauce and is excellent cold the next day. If you enjoy the taste of croissants, give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is a good base recipe. It is quick and easy. I have change the ingredients quite a bit for my taste. I used hot Italian sausage and added pepperoni, doubled the salami and ham. For cheese I used pepper jack and fresh mozzarella, with a sprinkle of a good sharp cheddar (no American cheese thank you!). I seasoned with salt and pepper, but added a fresh chiffonade of basil and minced garlic and a a very light sprinkle of crush red pepper flakes. I sprinkled the egg washed bread with coarse salt, garlic and Parmesan. It was very good. Next time I want to try some mushrooms, black olives, sweet bell pepper and maybe some pepperoncini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Delicious! I did do a few changes. I added pepperoni and I added Italian seasoning and garlic salt to the egg white. The Italian seasoning and garlic salt was perfect baked into the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very good and everyone loved it! I added pepperoni a d used provolone instead of the American cheese. I also warmed up a bowl of my homemade pasta sauce if anyone wanted to use it to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Easy and pretty good. Endlessly adaptable to personal tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The whole family loved this recipe! I try to provide healthy meals when I can so I made a few modifications. I used a whole wheat pizza dough ball instead. Low fat chicken sausage, turkey pepperoni and a layer of fresh spinach (not too much for fear of being watery). I always use the regular cheese -dont even think of using low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Caponi
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Like all the other reviews on here you can't go wrong with anything you put inside. I filled mine with mozzarella, pepperoni, sausage, and sautéed peppers and mushrooms. Instead of brushing with egg white, I used olive oil with garlic powder and Italian seasoning. I let bake for 15 min and then added another coat and cooked for remaining 5 min. Was a huge hit and will definitely add to the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Kid and time friendly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a HUGE hit for my family. So easy, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stromboli

See how to make meaty, cheesy pizza wraps.

Stromboli Grinder

See how to make a crispy, grilled salami and pepperoni grinder.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States