Simple Strawberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Loved it on ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed once and then subbed raspberries for strawberries in the second batch and it was very good either way. The ratio of sugar/water/fruit is dead on. I used the syrup on French Toast as well as tried it to make strawberry milk and both had such a true, natural taste (as opposed to those chemical "fake" tastes of the store bought kind). I pureed the leftover raspberries to make "raspberry sauce" over cheesecake! I used the leftover strawberries to make a milk shake! Thanks to Mr. Maynard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Fenominal! I can't wait to use this again... And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedidiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
very tasty.I think the ripeness really depends on the outcome of this syrup. I think if you catch some strawberries on sale about to expire at the store, that would really make for a good batch! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Yum! I added more water to it. I think I skimped on the sugar by a little. I used old, frozen strawberries to use them up and it was very surprisingly still AMAZING!! It does kind of look like jam when it's cold, but it was very fresh tasting. I put this in the microwave before serving it with my waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I used this recipe as a topping for my cheesecake this Easter, and it made the cheesecake delicious. I think I shall use it again for Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good basic strawberry syrup. I had to cook it for about half an hour and then used cornstarch to thicken (1-2 tsp cornstarch in a 2 tablespoons of cold water, mixed well, then added to the simmering syrup and stirred constantly for two minutes). I didn't strain the sauce - it is good with bits of strawberry. The family loved it on waffles ("fluffy pancakes" recipe on this site) and we had plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NayCakes
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made this strawberry syrup for cheesecake pancakes. My brother and my fiance loved it! I will definitely make this again. I left the strawberries in since it was for pancakes. The syrup tasted almost like strawberry preserves. Next time I will squeeze a bit of lemon into the syrup while it is reducing to give it another layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
EASY and AMAZING! The bonus is that the leftover pulp makes a great spread for toast and sandwiches, too. I made this exactly as stated but I think it took a little longer than 20 minutes to cook down. It was really great served warm on french toast and equally good the next day on leftovers. I've already added this to my real life recipe box as a keeper and will be making it next time we have guests over for breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Nielsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Trying to make this right now and its been in the "simmer til it thickens" stage for about 20 minutes now, and not showing any signs of thickening. Smells great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States