Simple Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Thank you! My mother made the sauce just like this and it was awesome. I never knew how. My mother has passed on and she never showed me how to do it. Of course, I never asked. No need to. However, I needed to know now. May I say, that ANY kind of recipe on ALLRECIPES.com is greatly appreciated. ANY KIND! A lot of us are not born with recipes in our memory banks like Grandma Jones. By the way, I'm a guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used this recipe sauce many times in the past and am just now reviewing this. It is excellent, fast and easy. I use this as a topping for any dessert, even on yogurt and granolas parfaits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was pretty good. The longer they sit the better! Thanks for this simple deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
So simple and easy. I had a plain piece of cheesecake that needed a little something. This was perfect, I had NO idea that you could make it so easily. Thank you for sharing, because without this recipe I would've been lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I seen this on the recipe reviews and wanted to see the recipe. I have been mixing strawberries and a little sugar together since I was little. My mom taught me years ago how to clean, cut, and sweeten strawberries like this to use to make strawberry shortcake. For this to be a sauce though it would require putting this in the blender. This is a recipe for sweetened strawberries for desserts. Either way, delicious combination in the summer time when fresh strawberries are available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is the way we always have made our strawberries...so good and sweet! This is also nice because if your berries are a little on the tart side, this sweetens them right up. We always serve these in strawberry shortcake. Love the juice that they create~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is what my mother did with our strawberries growing up. It reminds me of summers in Iowa on our farm. You can't go wrong with this....great with whipped cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used frozen strawberries instead of fresh one. It still turned out good. @Grandma Jones, sometimes you just need reassurance that you are going about the correct way of making strawberry sauce and others truly do not know how to make this dessert. Please do not assume everyone is proficient at all cooking (and non-cooking) methods. Even a child must first learn how to boil water before they can cook a hard-boiled egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I disagree with the poster that said that this recipe should not need to be written. Perhaps for the people in the "older" generation that were able to watch their at-home-mothers cook every single day - she is right - but now things are different and rarely is home ec. even offered in schools anymore. The only thing I do differently is to add at least 1 1/2 cup water and some vanilla extract...and also some honey as well as sugar (to taste). I let sit overnight - we like the large amount of liquid - because I serve the strawberries over pound cake and the poud cake is just so much better with all that liquid soaked into it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
try pouring this over hot fresh crepes!! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States