Simple Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Simple, easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
My market had a great sale on strawberries but since they are not in season, they weren’t very sweet. I used a little less sugar than this recipe called for and it made the strawberries taste like they were freshly picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have been making this for years! I find it an outstanding topping to so many things. I craved it for two of my pregnancies! Pancakes, waffles, crepes, ice cream and more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Simple and delicious strawberry sauce. I cut this back to six servings. I threw this together to spoon over buttermilk pancakes. This is EXACTLY the same strawberry topping my Grandma always made to go over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is what my mother ALWAYS did for strawberry shortcake and it's what I do now. I've also taught my daughter to do it this way. Of course I don't use measurements (because my mother never did either). I just sprinkle sugar on until it "looks right" stir them up and let them sit until a nice syrup forms. I make Jiffy mix biscuits and pour the strawberries and syrup over and dig in! I didn't see the rude comment made but I'm sure it wasn't necessary. A lot of people (obviously) need and like just such a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Seriously easy....seriously good! Thanks for posting! I served it warm over homemade vanilla ice cream...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
There's nothing quite like fresh strawberries and if I had a penny for everytime I made this, well...let's just say I'd have more than a dollar! Sometimes the simplest recipes are some of the best and you can easily sub Splenda for the sugar and get great results. This is perfect over shortcake, pound cake, ice cream, pancakes, and waffles - the possibilites are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
you can also make a sauce to pour over cheesecake by putting the strawberries in a blender and add powdered sugar instead of white sugar and pulse a few times, depending on how chuncky you want the strawberries.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Thank you for considering those who struggle in the kitchen for ideas. When I want a "sauce" for my fresh strawberries; I add a little lemon juice and use honey rather than sugar. Yummy! Thanks again bluegirl for being kind and considerate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaKydd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Have used this for years as a desert on its' own w/whipped cream....if you want a great sauce sauce for over ice cream, or whatever....just mash the berries and sugar!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States