Simple Stovetop Amish Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe turned out really great! My husband is from Lancaster PA, so he knows what traditional pot pie tastes like and he loved it! I used the square noodles as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I grew up eating this dish. My husband calls it "chicken soup" but we call it chicken pot pie. The pot pie comes from bot boi which is the type of PA Dutch noodles you should use for this recipe. The type of noodles you use can make or break this recipe. The large square eggs noodles are best. They don't gloop up. I've added onion and garlic seasonings to this, as well as use a few beef broth cubes. As good as it tastes the first night it's even better the next day because the noodles and potatoes really absorb the juices!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
this was a simple wholesome meal very filling. gave it four stars but only because the noodles that i used went a bit gloopy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is the same recipe my grandmother has been making for years. I think it is a south central PA staple! I'm partial to it left over when it can thicken up a bit. My M-I-L uses one can of cream of chicken soup instead of the broth and adds it to the chicken broth already in the pot.. This gives it a thick, "already left over" texture that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyjaye

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I tried this recipe for me and my husband and we didn't like the taste of everything mixed together. Overall not very good, wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My husband is a very picky eater and he really likes this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was the one of the best chicken recipes that my wife and I have tryed, matter afact the amish lady's are very wonderful cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
My Grandma used to make this for over family and it is soooo good! I modified the recipe by using boneless skinless chicken breasts and adding a little wyler's chicken boullion for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States