Simple Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was a great cake recipe and imagine just 3 ingredients!!! But I added venilla essence,as I thought it may have no flavor ,but it was a great recipe and so simple. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa weston
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
my husband is british and i've been trying to make that perfect sponge cake that he is so fond of. i have finally found the best recipe! i made this yesterday for a game night with my parents and my mom liked it so much she has asked me to make it for an upcoming family bbq and for the recipe! i made the following adjustments: changed the temperature to 350 degrees; changed the bake time to 15 minutes; added about a tsp of almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I used this recipe for the simple ingredients. It is a nice cake, but it was so hard and thick that I actually poured sweet milk over it to soften it up...otherwise the basic taste was nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Looking to recreate the birthdays of my childhood in England, my mum (RIP) used to make this same sponge cake with 3oz sugar/3oz SR flour and 3 eggs. It was light and fluffy. She would sandwich with jam, sliced bananas and whipped cream, then make a glace icing of confections suger and lemon on top. She made it seem so easy, so not sure what I did wrong; perhaps I over beat the eggs, or should have used cake flour, or over folded it or cooked for too long, but mine turned dry and tough! Unfortunately I did not realize how bad mine was until we had to cut into my cake with a hacksaw my son's 2nd birthday party, it was alittle bit embarrasing! I will try again until I perfect this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This should get 10 stars for simplicity! My husband had bought some beautiful strawberries and after dinner we thought of strawberry shortcake. Of course I had nothing for the cake (his favorite is sponge cake) so I popped onto AR and found this quick, simple recipe. In no time flat we had a great smelling and looking cake, great strawberries and homemade whipped cream for the topping. Like a few others said it did have a bit of an eggy taste, but not over-powering. Next time I might try 2 eggs instead of 3 and add a bit of water. This was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
ok for kids to bake, very easy. not so great for giving to company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i am slugmaiden's son and i love to cook and this cake was awesome my mom loved it she ate 3/4 of the whole cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The taste a smell was not the greatest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I just finished baking this cake tonight and my son enjoyed it thoroughly, all the members liked it. but with combined alterations given by other reviewers. it turned out to be a super hit for a evening snack or decorate to your hearts content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I MADE THE RECIPE BECAUSE OF THE PERSON WHO SAID IT WAS HORRIBLE....PERHAPS THEY CAN'T COOK AT ALL....EXTREMELY SIMPLE...MY GRANDMOTHER WAS FROM ENGLAND AND MADE A SPONGE CAKE EXACTLY LIKE THIS...I USED "DOLLAR GENERAL" SELF RISING FLOUR..BUT I LINED A JELLY ROLL PAN WITH GREASED WAXED PAPER....BAKED IT ONLY 10 MINUTES....WHEN DONE LET REST 10 MINUTES THEN TURN IT OUT ON A SUGAR SPRINKLED TEA TOWEL...ROLL IT UP TOWEL AND ALL...ALLOW TO COOL...UNROLL IT AND SPREAD IT WITH 1 C. JELLY OR JAM....ROLL IT AGAIN AND SPRINKLE THE TOP WITH SUGAR....I DID ADD A FEW DROPS LEMON EXTRACT TO THE EGGS....IT TURNED OUT PERFECTLY...BOO HOO TO THE PERSON WHO SAID "HORRIBLE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States