Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
really good and kind of healthy , i did precooked my pasta so i did not add the water to the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Loved this recipe! my only changes were to use fresh spinach, sauted with garlic, sliced crimini mushrooms and onions. I also used low-fat ricotta, lots of Parmesan and low-fat mozzarella, along with no-boil noodles. Came out delicious! My meat-loving hubby and son ask for it all the time - say they like it better than regular with meat! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I followed it exactly and the noodles did not cook and there was not enough tomato sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
YUM! Overall, it's a great recipe! Everyone had 2 and 3 servings. Like most people, I tweaked it to my liking, but it is a wonderful base for a spinach lasagna. I did not add the water and I used wheat noodles, frozen spinach & fresh mushrooms sauteed w/ onions, 1 bottle vodka sauce and 1 bottle alfredo sauce. I used cottage cheese, mozzarella, fresh basil and parsley (I didn't have oregano on hand). It came out very creamy, cheesy, tasty and delicious. It was a winner at my house (2 adults / 3 teens). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Five stars with my revisions.... I always make make a DOUBLE recipe of this (it is better, as usual with lasagna, a day or more later after baking..and it freezes beautifully) and using no-boil noodles here--forget the cups of water, not necessary (we want concentrated flavors, not watered down)... ricotta instead of the cottage cheese.... a 25 ounce jar of a tomato-heavy slightly-pinkish tone "3-cheese pasta sauce", then another bigger jar of bright red tomato pasta sauce. Mix the red (pinkish one) cheesy sauce in with the spinach mix per the directions... so make three layers between the pasta layers (instead of just two); spinach mixture, cheese mixture, and bright red pasta sauce mixture. The final layer of pasta gets topped with just the red sauce. Cook for the 55 minutes, *then* top with more cheese (both mozzarella and parmesan, so you will need more than the recipe calls for in my version) and bake til the cheese browns til it looks like a magazine cover (and congrat yourself). Also, don't layer things too evenly, lumpy is good! (which is nice as laying out the cheese mixture evenly is close to impossible and not desirable to me anyway--put the red sauce in the spaces between) It then bakes down into luscious curvy layers of pasta, a bang of cheesy goodness here, another of spinach divinity there, all with the bright red cheerfulness of concentrated tomato sunshine of summer for your eyes and mouth. Thank you LSPACE for the launching pad of my own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiaGiftos518
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious. Came out a little sloppy because my pan was shaped different. Will buy a disposable pan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very good and easy to throw together. I used fresh spinach and sauteed it until wilted. The only thing that could make this better would be a homemade pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I was OK once I made changes. I did not use any water. I was already running. The spaghetti sauce made it bland so I had to add oregano, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great taste. I substituted ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and used gluten free pasta instead of the lasagna noodles, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The flavors blend so well that you hardly taste spinach (which is surprising given the amount of spinach in the recipe)… or tomato sauce…. or garlic, but somehow it's just delicious. My husband, who does not like spinach, liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I like any lasagna recipe that doesn't require me to precook the noodles! However, I did run out of sauce, so I would increase the liquid by a cup and a half. I like more sauce/vegetables than cheese, so otherwise, this was a good recipe for me. If you don't love spinach, this is not the recipe for you. But if you do, this is super easy to make! I substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and 2 T of dried parsley instead of fresh. Thought it was great with some extra shredded mozzarella on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States