Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Too much Spinach and not enough cheese. And it made way too much sauce. It did have decent flavor but a bit too heavy on the spinach. Lots left over and it didn't get reheated which tells me my family didn't care for it very much. Maybe with half the amount of spinach and more cheese it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I was extremely pleased with this recipe and will definitely use it again. I used two 24 oz. jars of sauce; I mixed one full jar with the spinach, 1/2 the second jar for the a sauce-only bottom and top layer, and put the remaining 1/2 jar in a gravy boat on the table for those who wanted more sauce. I used fat-free mozzarella and cottage cheese, but also mixed in a full brick of (well-drained) tofu. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a great recipe, though I made a few modifications to make it just right. I bought the "no boil" lasagna noodles, which allowed me to eliminate the water. I also just used 26oz of spaghetti sauce, since that's the size the jar comes in. I added mushrooms, as well, for flavor and texture. I subbed ricotta for the cottage cheese and "finished" with mozzarella on top of the sauce because, really, who can deny their love for the slightly browned cheese on top? Because I used "no boil" noodles, I reduced the baking time to about 40mn, removing the foil after the first 30. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a good recipe. I give it 4 stars because how can it be 5 stars if you have to make changes? Anytime, you make changes it is no longer a 5 star recipe. So the changes I made. I added 1 cup of mushrooms chopped, a whole onion chopped, and a 1/4 cup of red bell peppers chopped to the saute. I only used 1 1/2 packages of frozen spinach. 1 seemed like too little. 2 would have been too much. I added some italian seasoning, papkrika, and used garlic salt instead of garlic cloves. In the sauce I added 1.5 bottles of sphaghetti sauce. I used a whole mushroom flavored bottle (26 oz) and 1/2 of a cheese blend bottle. (26 oz used 13) I didn't add any water to the sauce at all. For the cheese mixture, I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't boil my noodles as instructed and baked as instructed covered for 50 mins. Then I removed the cover and sprinkled with cheddar/sharp cheese. Oh and I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I have used cottage in the past and didn't like it. The key to the noodles is to make sure every inch of the noodles has sauce on them. This way they will be soft when you finish cooking. It was really great. I coupled it with a salad and some garlic bread and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Following some other suggestions, I substituted skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese, and I used 1 package of spinach and about 12 ounces of frozen broccoli florets. I think it would have been too "spinach-y" otherwise. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This recipe was really simple, I would recommend it to anyone making lasagna for the first time. The next time I make it I will add more cheese to recipe and increase the amount of sauce between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Probably wont make again. lacked flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is an awesome basis for vegetarian lasagna. I did make some changes as suggested by previous reviewers. I exchanged one package of spinanch for some brocolli, zuchini and mushrooms. I precooked my noodles and left out the water (only because thats they way I make my regular lasanga). I probably used more mozzarella than was called for as we really like the cheesy taste. I used a smaller jar of spaghetti sauce but made up the difference with a 6oz jar of tomato paste and some tomato sauce. Despite these changes I think this recipe is excellent as it stands & I will use it again & again with whatever variations strike me at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Oh man, this was so good! I used whole wheat pasta and light spaghetti sauce. Other than that, I made no changes to the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This tasted good and was easy to put together. Not so pleasing to the eye, though - the spinach makes the sauce look brown and kinda nasty. I used a 45 oz. jar of sauce, which worked out really well. I think that I will save some of the plain jar sauce for the very top layer next time, just so the appearance is better. I used part-skim ricotta instead of cottage cheese because it was cheaper, and I used an additional 4 oz. mozzarella and 2 oz. parmesan sprinkled over the very top. Lasagna is very filling and this made a lot so, as an added bonus, I have several individual servings in my freezer for future lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States