Simple Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I followed it exactly and the noodles did not cook and there was not enough tomato sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
YUM! Overall, it's a great recipe! Everyone had 2 and 3 servings. Like most people, I tweaked it to my liking, but it is a wonderful base for a spinach lasagna. I did not add the water and I used wheat noodles, frozen spinach & fresh mushrooms sauteed w/ onions, 1 bottle vodka sauce and 1 bottle alfredo sauce. I used cottage cheese, mozzarella, fresh basil and parsley (I didn't have oregano on hand). It came out very creamy, cheesy, tasty and delicious. It was a winner at my house (2 adults / 3 teens). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Five stars with my revisions.... I always make make a DOUBLE recipe of this (it is better, as usual with lasagna, a day or more later after baking..and it freezes beautifully) and using no-boil noodles here--forget the cups of water, not necessary (we want concentrated flavors, not watered down)... ricotta instead of the cottage cheese.... a 25 ounce jar of a tomato-heavy slightly-pinkish tone "3-cheese pasta sauce", then another bigger jar of bright red tomato pasta sauce. Mix the red (pinkish one) cheesy sauce in with the spinach mix per the directions... so make three layers between the pasta layers (instead of just two); spinach mixture, cheese mixture, and bright red pasta sauce mixture. The final layer of pasta gets topped with just the red sauce. Cook for the 55 minutes, *then* top with more cheese (both mozzarella and parmesan, so you will need more than the recipe calls for in my version) and bake til the cheese browns til it looks like a magazine cover (and congrat yourself). Also, don't layer things too evenly, lumpy is good! (which is nice as laying out the cheese mixture evenly is close to impossible and not desirable to me anyway--put the red sauce in the spaces between) It then bakes down into luscious curvy layers of pasta, a bang of cheesy goodness here, another of spinach divinity there, all with the bright red cheerfulness of concentrated tomato sunshine of summer for your eyes and mouth. Thank you LSPACE for the launching pad of my own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TiaGiftos518
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious. Came out a little sloppy because my pan was shaped different. Will buy a disposable pan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very good and easy to throw together. I used fresh spinach and sauteed it until wilted. The only thing that could make this better would be a homemade pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I was OK once I made changes. I did not use any water. I was already running. The spaghetti sauce made it bland so I had to add oregano, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great taste. I substituted ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese, and used gluten free pasta instead of the lasagna noodles, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The flavors blend so well that you hardly taste spinach (which is surprising given the amount of spinach in the recipe)… or tomato sauce…. or garlic, but somehow it's just delicious. My husband, who does not like spinach, liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I like any lasagna recipe that doesn't require me to precook the noodles! However, I did run out of sauce, so I would increase the liquid by a cup and a half. I like more sauce/vegetables than cheese, so otherwise, this was a good recipe for me. If you don't love spinach, this is not the recipe for you. But if you do, this is super easy to make! I substituted ricotta for the cottage cheese and 2 T of dried parsley instead of fresh. Thought it was great with some extra shredded mozzarella on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I ve tried it for the first time with this recipe and it came out really well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We really liked this lasagne. Reading the other reviews helped. I used half spinach and half broccoli. I used an ariabatta sauce (spicy) and ricotta cheese. Also, I did cook the noodles and eliminated the water from the sauce. And I topped the casserole with grated parmesan. My own family recipe is a five star but takes half a day to make. This went together quickly and is a healthier and quicker version of lasagne that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States