Simple Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Love it! I did not have any cinnamon sticks so I put in a pinch of dry cinnamon in the water with the bay leaf. Everyone loved it; I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This rice recipe is terrific. I've made it a couple of times now and haven't been disappointed. I use a smokey basmati rice and it comes out perfect. I really enjoy the hint of the cinnamon. It's very easy to make (followed the recipe to a T) and I use the leftovers to make fried rice. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
in my humble opinion, you can omit the onion and add a TBSP whole cloves and about 6-8 pods of whole green cardamom, this makes a delightful Indian style spiced basmati rice. Make a "bouquet garni", or a little bulb of spices wrapped in a piece of cheesecloth, for easy removal. Perfect with rich indian dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nessiegrrl78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe was great. I modified it by adding cashews (we oven roasted them first) and raisins. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was a wonderful way to make what is already my favourite kind of rice. The cinnamon sticks impart a subtle but distinct flavour that is delicious! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was so good! I only added a little onion, only because I'm not a big fan but other than that, followed the recipe. It was SO good! Subtle but delicious. And easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was good but I did have to add some cayenne and ginger because I felt like the rice needed a little something else. I served with chicken tandoori and Greek taziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Nice flavor and went well with grilled fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Where has this recipe been all of my life??!?!?! I was so impressed with the way this turned out. I rinsed the rice real good and soaked it for 30 minutes before cooking. I used chicken broth instead of water. OH. MY. GOODNESS. This is the best rice I have ever made and the smell.....oh! My house smelled wonderful! I served this with the Chorizo and Lentil Stew recipe from this site. I highly recommend this combination for an Indian-inspired meal! I will be making this rice over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States