Simple Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
YUM! Very very good. It was fragrant and had a nice flavor. Not strong at all but a mild cinnamon taste. It went perfectly with some Indian style meatballs in an onion raisin sauce. This would be great with many different dishes as a side. It turned out very fluffy indeed. Perfect rice, thanks!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Simple Spiced Rice Haiku: "Subtle flavor kiss. Nice, delicate basmati. Humble, simple spice." Basmati is of such a light, ethereal taste that it doesn't need to compete with heavy seasonings. But this simple method of preparing it yielded an airy, buttery, lightly-spiced rice that would compliment just about any entree. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
delicious! I also added a few cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I love making my rice with the herbs and seasoning in the cooking liquid. Your addition of cinnamon sticks and a bay leaf is a very clever 'addition' and I like it a lot. The 'cinnamon' stick is a bit more subtle than grated cinnamon and the bay leaf is gently aromatic. The basmati rice is such a flavorful rice to start with, that too much of anything would be overkill. This combo of sweet, pungent combined with the somewhat flowery basmati rice....just is a delightful merging. Lovely recipe and quite enticing to the palate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Thank you! This recipe was great! I wish I could say I made it exactly to recipe, but didn't have cinnamon sticks on hand, so I sprinkled in just a bit of the powdered variety. It was still great. Went great with my pork steaks with orange sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pkayemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
very simple, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This rice is fantastic! Possibly my favorite way to prepare basmati rice as a stand alone side dish. I did not change a thing, perfect as is. Thank you kbarnett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sljones117

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous Rice! I used Jasmine rice for its nutty flavor and chicken broth for the liquid instead of water. I also added red onion and a garlic & ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've never trried a rice recipe like this before, but we all really liked it. My son and I wanted to use the leftovers for fried rice the next day, but there wasn't any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Where has this recipe been all of my life??!?!?! I was so impressed with the way this turned out. I rinsed the rice real good and soaked it for 30 minutes before cooking. I used chicken broth instead of water. OH. MY. GOODNESS. This is the best rice I have ever made and the smell.....oh! My house smelled wonderful! I served this with the Chorizo and Lentil Stew recipe from this site. I highly recommend this combination for an Indian-inspired meal! I will be making this rice over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States