Simple Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Didn't really care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
One of the best rib meals I've ever prepared. My husband was amazed at how good oven cooked ribs could be. But might want to included the marinating time in the prep time to make it 2 and a half hours versused two hours and 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe was very taste and the meat just fell off the bones. I did make some changes. I did not have teriyaki sauce so I used soy sauce and brown sugar and I cut the chicken broth by half. After removing the meat from the pan I made a gravey. Definitly a keeper. Maybe I will try the crock pot next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
The meat was very tender but not very flavorful. Maybe we are just used to bbq ribs. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This just didn't excite me. I was looking for a way to use some country style ribs that did not involve BBQ sauce, and thought this would suit, but I was disappointed. The meat turned out incredibly tender, but the only taste that was apparent was the boatload of garlic! No flavor came through from broth or teriyaki. Won't be making this one again. (Thank goodness my husband wasn't home and didn't have to eat this - he would have pouted - LOL!) [LATER THE SAME EVENING: OK, OK, I give. I had neglected to taste the incredibly superior broth/au jus that cooked up, and was just tasting the meat! Thicken that broth up and serve over smashed taters - to DIE for. The meat is MUCH better with the gravy poured over...!!! Nummies! }
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I really liked this! I did not have onion powder so I added a minced onion to the broth mixture. When it was done I used the broth mixture as a base for gravy. Yum! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This recipe was very easy and tasted great! The meat was fork tender and the marinade/gravy was good over rice. We didn't have teriyaki sauce so we used soy sauce and about a tablespoon of brown sugar instead. Also, we used 1/8 cup of frozen onions instead of onion powder. We will DEFINATELY do this one again!! One extra tip: before inserting the pan into the oven, spray the sides of the pan with non-stick cooking spray. This made cleaning up the pan a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This recipe was great for me because of the diet I am on. I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Ok here's what I did..you may not like but I had to put my own twist to it. Instead of just chicken broth, I cut out the garlic powder and used 2 cups of Swanson's Roasted Garlic Chicken broth, and 2 cups of regular chicken broth. 1/4 of a package of onion soup mix. Substituted the teriyaki for Worcestershire, and 1/8 cup of liquid smoke. I am one for seasoning my meat...here's what i use...season all, cavenders, onion powder, and lemon pepper. It's up to you though. Watch out for the oinion soup mix though, it has a bit of a salty taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
OK. I think I overcooked it. It was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Barbeque Ribs

These tender, authentic ribs are boiled and baked, and so simple to make.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States