Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I made this using Taco Seasoning I, for which I reduced the salt by half and left out the crushed red pepper. I made those changes because I know the chili powder I use is particularly salty and spicey. Plus, I boiled the chicken in water with bouillon cubes, which added salt. I prepared the mixture and served it in Athens Mini Fillo Shells as an hors d'oeuvre. I received many compliments. I will make this again. It is a great make-ahead dish, because the shells are happy to stay in the refrigerator for a week and the "salad" is fine in the refrigerator for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was THE best chicken salad sandwich that I have ever had!!! I used the Taco Seasoning I from this site rather than packaged mix and I used leftover Spicy Grilled Chicken also from this site. I am absolutely hooked - will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I liked this recipe. It's fast and easy to make. I used green onions as well. I also added tumeric and paprika for color. It may sound strange, but I also put about 1tsp of lemon juice because it seemed like it was "missing something". The lemon juice blended well and brightened the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeinAustin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made this chicken salad with leftover chicken. The chicken was also from this site and very well seasoned already with cumin and chili powder, so I only used a half of the taco seasoning. The chicken recipe was "Super Simple Oven Barbequed Chicken". My husband who is not a fan of chicken salad loved this. Oh yeah, I added shredded cheddar cheese and green onions also to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My daughter and I cooked a whole chicken the other night, wasn't sure what to do with the left overs...I ended up looking for a different chicken salad receipe and found this one...I didn't have taco seasoning but I did have chilie seasoning, I used fat free mayo and celery, my daughter wanted me to put a hard boiled egg in it too so we did...it was wonderful. Thank you for help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Fantastic! I made this and used Taco Seasoning I from this site and reduced the salt by half. Huge raves over this chix salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarylandGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was SOOOO good!!! I will be making this ALL the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Yummy! My roomies loved this, no leftovers for sure. I think next time i'll add some hot sauce or something more to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This is very good. I didn't have celery so I used green onions. I also omitted the cilantro only becuase I don't like it. 1 package of taco seasoning seems to much so I used 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This recipe is very good. However I think next time I will cut back to 1/2 as much taco seasoning as what is called for. I may have to adjust again, but as it is, it is still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States