Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Good!!!!!I would for sure cut back on the taco seasoning,its over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I made this using Taco Seasoning I, for which I reduced the salt by half and left out the crushed red pepper. I made those changes because I know the chili powder I use is particularly salty and spicey. Plus, I boiled the chicken in water with bouillon cubes, which added salt. I prepared the mixture and served it in Athens Mini Fillo Shells as an hors d'oeuvre. I received many compliments. I will make this again. It is a great make-ahead dish, because the shells are happy to stay in the refrigerator for a week and the "salad" is fine in the refrigerator for a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was THE best chicken salad sandwich that I have ever had!!! I used the Taco Seasoning I from this site rather than packaged mix and I used leftover Spicy Grilled Chicken also from this site. I am absolutely hooked - will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I liked this recipe. It's fast and easy to make. I used green onions as well. I also added tumeric and paprika for color. It may sound strange, but I also put about 1tsp of lemon juice because it seemed like it was "missing something". The lemon juice blended well and brightened the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeePatience

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I made this chicken salad with leftover chicken. The chicken was also from this site and very well seasoned already with cumin and chili powder, so I only used a half of the taco seasoning. The chicken recipe was "Super Simple Oven Barbequed Chicken". My husband who is not a fan of chicken salad loved this. Oh yeah, I added shredded cheddar cheese and green onions also to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My daughter and I cooked a whole chicken the other night, wasn't sure what to do with the left overs...I ended up looking for a different chicken salad receipe and found this one...I didn't have taco seasoning but I did have chilie seasoning, I used fat free mayo and celery, my daughter wanted me to put a hard boiled egg in it too so we did...it was wonderful. Thank you for help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Fantastic! I made this and used Taco Seasoning I from this site and reduced the salt by half. Huge raves over this chix salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Bachmann Chaney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This was SOOOO good!!! I will be making this ALL the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Yummy! My roomies loved this, no leftovers for sure. I think next time i'll add some hot sauce or something more to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This is very good. I didn't have celery so I used green onions. I also omitted the cilantro only becuase I don't like it. 1 package of taco seasoning seems to much so I used 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States