Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is a good recipe but I did make some changes. I added extra chicken breast; a can of black beans; two diced tomatoes and cut the taco seasoning in half. I served it with tortilla chips, tortillas, lettuce, and sourcream for everyone to use. Everything was eaten and everyone thought it was a great salad. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was good - my husband liked it, which is great. I added an extra chicken breast (like others suggested). I also added a can of black beans and some diced tomatoes. I used the same amount of mayo and taco seasoning, and there was plenty - I didn't need to add any more. In fact, I was thinking the taco seasoning was a little too much still. I think I'll use less next time (or add more beans). I used vegan mayo (because I'm allergic to eggs), and it still tasted great. We ate it with lettuce in tortillas & it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
A nice change from ordinary chicken salad. I didn't use whole package of seasoning since I thought it would be too salty and overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was delicious! I cut back the mayo and used fat free. I added green onions, and used 1 T. of taco seasoning (homemade recipe from this site - Taco Seasoning I). I wrapped in a tortilla as suggested by others with lettuce and cheddar cheese. Delicious and healthy lunch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very, very easy to make. Delicious. Great as a wrap. I used only a little over half of the taco seasoning packet and that was more than enough. Also added Tabasco smoked chipotle sauce and was great. Will try next time with either corn, cheese, beans, or chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very yummy - my husband requests this quite often. I used half the required taco seasoning, like others have suggested and it tastes just right. I have made this with and with out celery - no difference really, just more of a crunch with celery. I also added onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Made this for an easy dinner last night and everyone loved it--including my two-year old. I used three chicken breast halves and shredded them instead of cubing. Used just a tablespoon or so less than a full taco seasoning packet, along with low-fat mayo. Enjoyed the salad wrapped in flour tortillas with lettuce and a drizzle of ranch dressing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Incredibly yummy but to cut on fat I only used 1/2 cup of reduced fat mayo and 2 tablespoons of the taco seasoning. I put it in a fat free flour tortilla with some lettcue. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Yum! This was delicious. I altered the recipe quite a bit. I made it vegetarian by adding a can of Morningstar Farms 'Diced Chik', instead of chicken. I also added 3 chopped green onions, 1/2 a chopped green pepper, an entire chopped tomatoe, a can of kidney beans, a can of Peaches and Cream corn, about 1/2 c. of mild salsa, 1/4 c. extra mayo, a little bit of water to thin out the dressing (about 3 Tbsp.), decreased the taco seasoning to 1 1/2 Tbsp. (1 ounce=2 Tbsp.), and of course added lots and lots of cilantro because we are cilantro lovers in our household. Very tasty served as a wrap in a warmed whole wheat flour tortilla with some lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
It has a bit of a spicy taste too but it's absolutely delicious. I did not use the whole taco sauce package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangeathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States