Simple Slow Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! And the kids ate it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Delicious, fall-off-the-bone chicken. I had two very large, fresh chicken halves that I used in place of a whole chicken. The wine that I used was a red table wine - a very cheap bottle of Charles Shaw® Nouveau, and it worked fine in this recipe. The chicken had delicious flavor and it paired nicely with 'Parmesan Garlic Orzo' from AR and a tossed salad. I now have the carcass and some added spices and veggies in the crockpot, overnight, making a wonderful broth in which I will freeze tomorrow. Thanks, FrackFamily5 for sharing your chicken recipe. The leftovers will be used to create another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Succulent. It deserves 5 stars because of the moisture of the chicken flesh - between the slow cooking and the wine, there was not a dry spot in the chicken, even in the breast. I'd like to try to find a way next time to have the sauce flavors penetrate the chicken more - perhaps I'll inject with a syringe halfway through baking. Note: of course, this is not a "crispy skin" chicken recipe (it's covered when cooking). Probably if you gave it a good 5-10 minutes broil with butter on the skin at the end you could get a crispy skin, although I don't have experience with such a technique. Overall, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I cooked this in my dutch oven at 250 degrees for 5 hours and it literally fell off the bone. Very good and easy to make. Served with mashed tatters, peas, and gravy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Unbelievable how this chicken fell off the bone. Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! The aroma while this is baking is so wonderful. Thank You for sharing such a great recipe Frack Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fall off the bone goodness, for sure. Love the spices too. Thanks FrackFamily5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very good and simple recipe. The only thing I added was lemon, along with the onion, in the cavity. Cooked to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This chicken was the best roasted chicken I have ever made :) It was so juicy and tender that it was falling off the bone! I suggest using cooking twine to tie up the legs, as I did not and it was pretty flat when I took it out. I also stuffed the butter and herb mixture under the skin. This will be my go to recipe from now on :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This Chicken was perfect. I followed the recipe except added some turnips (found in frig) to the baking pan. I put all my side dishes: potatoes, onion casserole, and baked carrots to the oven. Makes for a carefree holiday dinner. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States