Simple Slow Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Succulent. It deserves 5 stars because of the moisture of the chicken flesh - between the slow cooking and the wine, there was not a dry spot in the chicken, even in the breast. I'd like to try to find a way next time to have the sauce flavors penetrate the chicken more - perhaps I'll inject with a syringe halfway through baking. Note: of course, this is not a "crispy skin" chicken recipe (it's covered when cooking). Probably if you gave it a good 5-10 minutes broil with butter on the skin at the end you could get a crispy skin, although I don't have experience with such a technique. Overall, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Unbelievable how this chicken fell off the bone. Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
TENDER, MOIST, & FLAVORFUL! I followed the recipe exactly but used my unglazed ceramic stoneware to bake it. I baked it for 4 1/2 hours and it fell off the bones. The red wine and seasonings made it very flavorful. Thank you FrackFamily5 for sharing your recipe! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Delicious! And so simple! I had planned to put this together the night before for my 15 yr old son to pop in the oven at the right time the next day. I forgot, so I called him and he followed the recipe and made it himself! Let me add, the most my son has ever cooked was grilled cheese. I recently decided that I'd never taught him how to cook and should do so soon! I'm a single parent that just didn't take the time to show them. Well, here was my chance, albeit over the phone! When we got to the onion part, he said, "what's an onion?" Oh please, he really didn't know what an onion looked like? Well, he figured it out and I talked him through quartering it, etc. He then asked where he should put it. I said shove it up the same hole that you took the bag of stuff out of. lol. My other two younger kids loved the chicken too and we are going to all start cooking together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This chicken was the best roasted chicken I have ever made :) It was so juicy and tender that it was falling off the bone! I suggest using cooking twine to tie up the legs, as I did not and it was pretty flat when I took it out. I also stuffed the butter and herb mixture under the skin. This will be my go to recipe from now on :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! The aroma while this is baking is so wonderful. Thank You for sharing such a great recipe Frack Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fall off the bone goodness, for sure. Love the spices too. Thanks FrackFamily5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very good and simple recipe. The only thing I added was lemon, along with the onion, in the cavity. Cooked to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! And the kids ate it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I cooked this in my dutch oven at 250 degrees for 5 hours and it literally fell off the bone. Very good and easy to make. Served with mashed tatters, peas, and gravy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States