Simple Slow Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Delicious! And so simple! I had planned to put this together the night before for my 15 yr old son to pop in the oven at the right time the next day. I forgot, so I called him and he followed the recipe and made it himself! Let me add, the most my son has ever cooked was grilled cheese. I recently decided that I'd never taught him how to cook and should do so soon! I'm a single parent that just didn't take the time to show them. Well, here was my chance, albeit over the phone! When we got to the onion part, he said, "what's an onion?" Oh please, he really didn't know what an onion looked like? Well, he figured it out and I talked him through quartering it, etc. He then asked where he should put it. I said shove it up the same hole that you took the bag of stuff out of. lol. My other two younger kids loved the chicken too and we are going to all start cooking together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Succulent. It deserves 5 stars because of the moisture of the chicken flesh - between the slow cooking and the wine, there was not a dry spot in the chicken, even in the breast. I'd like to try to find a way next time to have the sauce flavors penetrate the chicken more - perhaps I'll inject with a syringe halfway through baking. Note: of course, this is not a "crispy skin" chicken recipe (it's covered when cooking). Probably if you gave it a good 5-10 minutes broil with butter on the skin at the end you could get a crispy skin, although I don't have experience with such a technique. Overall, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik Campano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I cooked this in my dutch oven at 250 degrees for 5 hours and it literally fell off the bone. Very good and easy to make. Served with mashed tatters, peas, and gravy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
TENDER, MOIST, & FLAVORFUL! I followed the recipe exactly but used my unglazed ceramic stoneware to bake it. I baked it for 4 1/2 hours and it fell off the bones. The red wine and seasonings made it very flavorful. Thank you FrackFamily5 for sharing your recipe! We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Too much seasonings. And the chicken must be covered, though the recipe doesn't say that, for part of the cooking time or else it will not be done. The chicken itself is very moist and flavorful but the parts that are covered in seasonings I could not eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Not sure how many times I have made this but it never lets me down. I however don't understand all the temperatures of these chicken recipes being 180. 160 degrees is cooked plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! The aroma while this is baking is so wonderful. Thank You for sharing such a great recipe Frack Family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Unbelievable how this chicken fell off the bone. Very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fall off the bone goodness, for sure. Love the spices too. Thanks FrackFamily5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Delicious, fall-off-the-bone chicken. I had two very large, fresh chicken halves that I used in place of a whole chicken. The wine that I used was a red table wine - a very cheap bottle of Charles Shaw® Nouveau, and it worked fine in this recipe. The chicken had delicious flavor and it paired nicely with 'Parmesan Garlic Orzo' from AR and a tossed salad. I now have the carcass and some added spices and veggies in the crockpot, overnight, making a wonderful broth in which I will freeze tomorrow. Thanks, FrackFamily5 for sharing your chicken recipe. The leftovers will be used to create another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States