Simple Slow Cooker Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a pretty good recipe. I find the sausage gives it a greasy taste. I used just lean ground beef. I also add in 1/2 cup of all bran cereal to absorb some of the extra moisture. I also put a handful of baby carrots to the bottom of the slow cooker, to raise the meatloaf out of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very good. I made the following changes: I only had ground beef, so I used 2 lb. Instead of ketchup on top, I used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I was worried that the center wouldn't cook at the same time as the outside, so I shaped it into 2 long loaves in my oval crockpot, with about an inch of space in between them. I think this worked really well. I only had 3 hours, so I cooked it on high for a bit and then turned to low to finish. Overall, my family liked it very much, and it didn't heat up our kitchen (the main reason I have been avoiding making meatloaf for several months now). DD and DH said this was better than my regular meatloaf, and they have always loved that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was a great recipe. My family enjoyed it and it was simple and easy to make. Since it was my first time making this, I did not change anything, and it turned out great. I did drain the drippings before adding the remaining ketchup and used that for the gravy we had on our mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I love the taste of this recipe, it's very flavorful, I couldn't get enough. The texture was lacking though, as it fell apart, and did indeed look like dog food as one reviewer mentioned. I used ground turkey instead of beef, so I didn't have a lot of excess drippings. I think the problem stems from the ratio of dry ingredients to moist ingredients. Two eggs, plus the ketchup just seems excessive. While mixing the ingredients, the meat became runny, so less moisture is a definite must. One egg and the ketchup should work just as well, and the loaf should stick together better. This meal will definitely stay in the rotation though, since it's so easy to throw together and cook while at my classes or at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This was so easy! I used 1.5 lbs hamburger and .5 lb sausage. Instead of mixing ketchup into the meatloaf, I used 1/2 cup of salsa. I only used one egg. I drained it before adding the ketchup to the top. The consistency was perfect and it stayed together perfectly!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
An excellent, easy meatloaf. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs (because thats what I had) and BBQ sauce instead of ketchup (because thats what I like), and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
We really liked this one! I used sage flavored sausage which added some flavor. It didn't seem to have as much grease as when you cook one in the oven and even though it sits in the drippings, the bottom wasn't all soggy. Nothing is worse than a soggy meatloaf! :) My husband really liked it. Next time I will try BBQ sauce instead of ketchup to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
My family liked it. It was so quick and easy to make. The kids loved it over mashed potatoes. My only problem was how salty it was. Next time I will use half of the onion soup mix. This one went in our recipie box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was a great recipie. Instead of original sausage, I used the hot and spicy, and instead of the ketchup, I used barbeque sauce. It was eaten, leftovers and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Lou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great recipie. The second time I tried I added a can of mexicorn, a touch more bread crumbs, 50/50 chuck and pizza sausage mix a dash or two of worstershire, and topped the loaf with bacon bits. (Roll up 4-5 sheets of aluminum so they are cigar shaped. Put them on bottom of crock pot to pervent sogginess at the bottom of the loaf, and will let the grease drip below the loaf. Make longer strips to make a "handle" if you please).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilobravo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States