Simple Slow Cooker Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was good. Good slow cooker recipes are key with working parents. We ate this for dinner tonight. I made a couple of additions. I made it the night before to be ready for the next day. I used sage sausage, half bread crumbs and half crushed butter crackers(I wanted to use them up) I also used bbq sauce instead of ketchup. I also added a dash of liquid smoke, I know it sounds crazy but it turned out great. Had my husband come home on lunch and turn it on low. I got home about six hours later and put the bbq sauce on top for few minutes. My 3 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
An excellent, easy meatloaf. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs (because thats what I had) and BBQ sauce instead of ketchup (because thats what I like), and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
We really liked this one! I used sage flavored sausage which added some flavor. It didn't seem to have as much grease as when you cook one in the oven and even though it sits in the drippings, the bottom wasn't all soggy. Nothing is worse than a soggy meatloaf! :) My husband really liked it. Next time I will try BBQ sauce instead of ketchup to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
My family liked it. It was so quick and easy to make. The kids loved it over mashed potatoes. My only problem was how salty it was. Next time I will use half of the onion soup mix. This one went in our recipie box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rosharon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was simple and very good. I added steak sauce and gr. peppers, also used crushed stuffing mix. Will be making this again, in fact tomorrow for supper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I love the taste of this recipe, it's very flavorful, I couldn't get enough. The texture was lacking though, as it fell apart, and did indeed look like dog food as one reviewer mentioned. I used ground turkey instead of beef, so I didn't have a lot of excess drippings. I think the problem stems from the ratio of dry ingredients to moist ingredients. Two eggs, plus the ketchup just seems excessive. While mixing the ingredients, the meat became runny, so less moisture is a definite must. One egg and the ketchup should work just as well, and the loaf should stick together better. This meal will definitely stay in the rotation though, since it's so easy to throw together and cook while at my classes or at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I used 2 lbs of hamburger instead to the sausage. The taste was not too bad, but it was difficult to get past the look of it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I never knew one could make meatloaf in a slow cooker! That itself deserves some recognition. Beyond that, I didn't like the taste or density of this meatloaf. I might try the recipe again someday and replace the bread crumbs with crumbled up bread slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very good. I made the following changes: I only had ground beef, so I used 2 lb. Instead of ketchup on top, I used KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I was worried that the center wouldn't cook at the same time as the outside, so I shaped it into 2 long loaves in my oval crockpot, with about an inch of space in between them. I think this worked really well. I only had 3 hours, so I cooked it on high for a bit and then turned to low to finish. Overall, my family liked it very much, and it didn't heat up our kitchen (the main reason I have been avoiding making meatloaf for several months now). DD and DH said this was better than my regular meatloaf, and they have always loved that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I like my regular meatloaf better, but this was very easy and I would make again. I think I will try the spicy sausage like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States