Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My kids and I love the scones! I needed to add more moisture to the recipe because of the weather in NJ today, so I added a little bit of orange juice. I did not have any raisins, I added sliced almonds in place of them. I will be making this recipe again and again, but will add other ingredients to change it up. Thank you for posting the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was super easy! Very yummy and perfect with the Easy Clotted Cream. I did leave out the raisins as I am not a big fan of them in baked goods...I think I will substitute blueberries my next batch. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe! I stuffed with syrup and topped with icing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
We loved them, and they are easy and fun to make. My 86 year old mum loves them with her afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It was simple to make and it tasted wonderful with a cup of Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe and used light cream instead of sour cream and it was great. I've also used craisins instead of currants (delicious) and once omitted them and just added the zest from an orange which was just as good (I've done it with lemon zest as well when I replaced the currants). Great basic recipe that is adaptable and easy. I also used my food processor which took half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
First introduced to scones by my mother -n-law :) I followed the recipe and they are grrrreat! I did use a little mare sugar that recipe called for. Did not use a food processor, not necessary. Will experiment with different add-ons in the future. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I substituted a 1/3 C. whole wheat flour and used strawberry yogurt instead of sour cream. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We love these, we do not have a food processor and did not feel they were too much work, The first time we added orange zest and choc. chips, those tasted much better cold. So many ways to try them today its orange zest and cherry craisins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was OK. I'm going to change it up next time using Tyler Florence's scone recipe from Food Network. I'm going to drop the egg and the sour cream and use 1 cup of heavy cream instead. The texture will be less cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States