Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Best ever basic scone recipe! I omit the dried fruit and add 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips instead. Makes an awesome dessert plain or served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Photo by AlaskaJulie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! Don't over mix though. The scones are light and fluffy. I added almond extract and orange extract along with Cherry Craisins. I brushed the tops with milk and sprinkled raw sugar crystals on top; no need for frosting of any kind. The scones were devoured immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
First time ever making scones & I used this recipe. Everyone loved them. I won't try any other scone recipe. This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the dry ingredients. Then when I pulled the scones out of the oven, I split them open and filled with fresh cooked apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaB
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these & so does my family! This is a relatively easy recipe. The dough seemed crumbly At first.. I almost added an extra egg.. But refrained and I was glad i did. The more you work the dough it comes together. I replaced the raisins with dried cranberries and added lemon zest.... Will definitely make These again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
It seems to be important to follow the technique exactly as described, mix by hand. Substitutes in ingredients don't seem to matter that much. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream and it turned out really great. Added dried black currants instead of raisins, a bit more fancy. I will absolutely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great tips on this recipe. They turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I have used orange zest and chunks of chocolate in it. That's A really good dessert scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really, really enjoyed this recipe! My boyfriend loves the scones and keeps asking me to make more. I didn't change anything in the recipe except the add-ins. The firs time I used raisins and the second time I tried raspberries. This recipe is awesome. I will keep using it-next time I'm adding butterscotch! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy. My husband ate 3. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Did not use almond extract. I will make these for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States