Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now (without a food processor) and I love it. Using the box grater for the butter is such a good idea and easier than using a pastry blender. It always seems too dry at first, but as I work it with my hands, pressing it against the bowl into a ball, I think the butter starts to melt a little and helps pull it all together. Since I don't use a food processor, I don't have any issues with the dough being sticky. In fact, I don't even put the dough on a floured surface. I just put it directly onto the cookie sheet, flatten it into an oval shape and cut it into 8 triangles. I separate the triangles a little to give them room to get evenly baked. No problems. The end product is delicious. (Also, I used dried cranberries instead of raisins)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Very forgiving recipe. I didn't have enough sour cream this time so I substituted coconut yogurt of all things... still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Morehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I love this recipe..it is easy to get together and use different things to make it your own...I use cranberries, blueberries etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These are very easy to make, and tasted wonderful. We made them with fresh blueberries and lemon zest. The fresh blueberries did make them stick to the parchment paper a bit, but the flavor of the fresh blueberries was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Easy with a food processor. I didnt freeze the butter. Cakier texture but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Perfect texture and flavor. I omitted the currants because I didn't have any on hand, and added 2 teaspoons of almond extract. Topped them off by drizzling a delicate glaze made up of 1/4 cup orange juice and 1 cup powdered sugar whisked together. This is an excellent base recipe that can be adapted for numerous add-ins and flavor variations. A food processor definitely comes in handy for mixing these together. This will be a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Melts in your mouth! I made these without any of the dried fruit and they were delicious. They would make a fabulous strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I didn't have any sour cream, so I used a 5.3 ounce cup of peach Greek yogurt instead, and they turned out wonderfully! I also sprinkled a tiny bit of sugar on top of the scones before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very simple, I substituted gluten free flour, fage Greek yogurt, white chocolate,and raspberries. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These were moist on the inside, they didn't rise much and were more flat--not light and flaky like other scone recipes. On the other hand, it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamDMorrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States