Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by helenpress
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So good - cut butter in (do not use mixer) so the scones remain dense and flakey. I added almond extract and dried cranberries? They were delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I had never made scones before and was asked to make scones by a friend. Everyone loved them. I did leave out the raisins as my son doesn't like them. I did add 1tsp of cinnamon Other than that I kept the recipe as is..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I didn't like the raisins in it but I can't wait to try something else. And it looks like a lot of work but it's not. I'll never grate the butter again though. What a mess! Simply cutting it in would work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by israasami
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
this recipe is great and super easy and quick to make, however I would use more sugar with it as 1/3 cup is not enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the perfect go to recipe....it is so simple and fast...great for a basic to go to because you can leave it as is...or adventure out ...add different ingredients and flavors ...moist, light and not dry like a brick! lol....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is the best scones I've ever made and ever ate! It's so much fun to make and it's a great recipe to make with kids. It's a great item for a good afternoon tea or whenever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Tried this recipe and was very pleased. Changed just a bit, used dried blueberries. and drizzled with a lemon glaze. Just wonderful thanks. will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I added some frozen raspberries and substituted Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I tried this recipe and was surprised at how easy it was. I am not a baker but love scones. I used dried blueberries and added a little vanilla extract. I think I would add a little more sugar or substitute Brown sugar next time. I let my butter get to room temperature then added to the flour mixture. (No problem without the grated frozen way) These were really good and had a moisteness I liked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
For some reason, scones have always intimidated me. They stalked me in the hallway of "Things You Haven't Baked Yet", until this recipe. A great basic, I added a splash of almond in with the vanilla extract, swapped the raisins with craisins and added a hint of dried orange peel. Delicious! Can't wait to try them with other flavors. Also a pizza cutter dipped in flour is a great way to cut the dough into the well-known triangle shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States