Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These came out great.. I didn't change a thing..I did not use a food processor.. used my hands for like 5 minutes and it was perfect.. one more thing.. I had forgotten to add the raisins... even after I had rolled dough into a ball I just added the raisins and massages out throughout the dough, but it didn't seem to affect the outcome at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a great scone recipe. Not too dry and you can add several different things. I added vanilla and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Makes a wonderful shortbread for strawberry shortcake. No alterations, just skipped raisins. Light and fluffy. Will double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bookworm30
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These scones are amazing. I follow the recipe but I add pecan's or blueberries instead. I have read some reviews and I'm going to try some other add in's. I'm obsessed with these I make them all the time. Oh I also use my food processor instead of grating the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this today and within an hour they were all gone. I used cranberries instead of raisins and used the good processor as other reviewers suggested. I also used brown sugar instead if white sugar. They came out really great. I have a request to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've made these scones about 10 times so far and EVERY time they turn out PERFECTLY! I have a food processor, but I do not use it for this ultra easy and fast recipe. I enjoy grating the frozen butter - and the texture of the scones is always perfecto. I use less sugar in the mix than the recipe recommends, but still sprinkle some on top. I prefer dried currants to raisins. I use kefir or yogurt instead of sour cream and add lemon zest or orange zest if I have them. I've also made an orange glaze but it didn't get eaten because the scones were so good without anything added. I made them as snackage during my husband's graduate comprehensive exams (HIS COMMITTEE LOVED THEM) and every time I make them for guests they ask for the recipe. The cutting part in step 5 is CRUCIAL because it makes them the classic scone shape. To make 16 adorable mini-scones I cut each triangle in half and cooked them a minute or 2 less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
it was one of a kind.My family loved it and it is so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bulawayo, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These scones were delicious, but they were a little cookie-ish to me. I baked mines without raisins, and instead blended up some strawberries in the batter. Strawberry scones are nice, give it more of a breakfast taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Excellent! I made a much larger quantity which I divided up and froze for quick use. I also used a little more sour cream and no eggs. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States