Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
These scones were so easy to make and a huge hit. I doubled the recipe, substituted plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and added the zest of one small lemon. The butter was at room temp when I cut it in, not frozen, and I still achieved very good results. I was able to put a double batch together in about 15 minutes, very easy to make. They were served room temp with strawberry jam and clotted cream. My British in-laws raved about them. This was my first attempt at from scratch scones and I will use this recipe moving forward, it's a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Weezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was really good and super easy. I replaced the sugar with Splenda. Worked really well. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe! I didn't have any eggs so I used 1/4 cup yogurt and it still turned out great! I added frozen blueberries instead of raisins and a lemon glaze, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These came out great.. I didn't change a thing..I did not use a food processor.. used my hands for like 5 minutes and it was perfect.. one more thing.. I had forgotten to add the raisins... even after I had rolled dough into a ball I just added the raisins and massages out throughout the dough, but it didn't seem to affect the outcome at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a great scone recipe. Not too dry and you can add several different things. I added vanilla and blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Makes a wonderful shortbread for strawberry shortcake. No alterations, just skipped raisins. Light and fluffy. Will double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bookworm30
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
These scones are amazing. I follow the recipe but I add pecan's or blueberries instead. I have read some reviews and I'm going to try some other add in's. I'm obsessed with these I make them all the time. Oh I also use my food processor instead of grating the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this today and within an hour they were all gone. I used cranberries instead of raisins and used the good processor as other reviewers suggested. I also used brown sugar instead if white sugar. They came out really great. I have a request to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've made these scones about 10 times so far and EVERY time they turn out PERFECTLY! I have a food processor, but I do not use it for this ultra easy and fast recipe. I enjoy grating the frozen butter - and the texture of the scones is always perfecto. I use less sugar in the mix than the recipe recommends, but still sprinkle some on top. I prefer dried currants to raisins. I use kefir or yogurt instead of sour cream and add lemon zest or orange zest if I have them. I've also made an orange glaze but it didn't get eaten because the scones were so good without anything added. I made them as snackage during my husband's graduate comprehensive exams (HIS COMMITTEE LOVED THEM) and every time I make them for guests they ask for the recipe. The cutting part in step 5 is CRUCIAL because it makes them the classic scone shape. To make 16 adorable mini-scones I cut each triangle in half and cooked them a minute or 2 less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States