Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I wouldn't recommend them if you do not have a food processor since making them as here described seems to be a lot of work. But with a food processor just mix dry ingredients and frozen butter (cut in pieces) in processor, process it a few seconds until well blended, add wet ingredients and pulse it until well blended, add raisins or any other fruits or chips you like, just pulse it a couple of times to mix, take the batter out, pat it flat and cut your scones. The batter needs to be well mixed but do not try to get it smooth – scones are supposed to look crumbly. Easy but so delicious! I omitted the raisins and added butter scotch chips instead - they were a hit. But I'm sure I will try a lot of different add-ons in the future. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I mixed these up using my food processor and the results were fantastic... and so easy.. put flour and dry ingredients in first... spin the butter around til it flakes... then add the sour cream, eggs and dried fruit..til it forms a ball... then proceed with the recipe as written. I tried both apricots and cranberries... and the results were fantastic... So easy... and much easier than grating the butter.. and the handmixing... (I broke my right arm on November 3rd.. so handmixing anything is out for awhile.. makes holiday cooking inconvenient)... These could get to be addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
667 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
What a wonderful scone recipe. These turned out just slightly moist and not dried-out like other recipes I have tried. The addition of the orange zest and cranberries gave them a delicious, subtle sweet flavor. Like another reviewer suggested, I made these in the food processor so the dough came together very well, very quickly. But sticky is an understatement! Be sure you generously flour your work surface, hands, and knife when shaping and cutting these scones. This is the best scone recipe I've tried and it's a definite make-again and again! Update 11/12/07: I have made these scones no less than two dozen times and they are consistently a big hit with everyone, adults and children alike. I will never consider another recipe for scones, this one is the absolute best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
595 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Great recipe! I used salted cold butter from the fridge and just cut it into the dough. My first batch was made with grated cheddar, second batch with fresh strawberries and my third batch with ham, cheese and green onions (sprinkled cheddar on top) all in 3 days! They went right away and they looked so pretty! This recipe is great as a base - add whatever you want for the flavour of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Excellent basic scone recipe. It allowed for substitutions nicely. I used half white and half whole grain flours to up the nutritional value (1/2 cup oat flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry four plus 2 TBSP ground flax seed.) I divided the dough in half and put chocolate chips in one half (alas, I hate currants and raisins!)and unsweetened finely shredded coconut & chocolate chips in the other half. Mmm, yummy, and halfway healthy too. Some other suggested "additions" are: craisins and white chips, lemon zest and orange flavored craisins, hazelnuts and toffee chunks, walnuts and chopped dried apricots, coarsely chopped candied ginger and cinnamon, pecans and Kraftmaid caramels cut into fourths... use your imagination and create scones to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made these tonight for my family and they loved them!!! The alterations I made was to used only ONE and a HALF cups of whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup flax seed ground up and 1/4 cup wheat germ. This makes it super nutritious and adds a lot of fiber. My kids said they were the best scones they had ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFENY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These are the best scones I have ever eaten! I'm a top notch baker but even thought this recipe is easy, it doesn't skip on the flavor. The first time I made these, I did dried crannberry with orange zest. The second time, I did fresh blueberries with walnuts. I liked the cranberry recipe best. Bust my husband and daughter liked the blueberry. I made a frosting for the left overs. It had confectioners sugar, almond extract and orange juice. I dunked the scones in when they were completely cooled. And they were excellent with coffee the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I used salted butter and they were fine. The hardest part was hand grating the butter and the whole mix with your fingers thing I didn't go for. So this morning I grated the frozen butter with my food processor, switched to the chopping blade, added the flour and just pulsed it a couple of times. Dumped in the wet ingredients and pulsed just until combined. MUCH easier, (probably took a total of 1 minute) and texture is the same. These are excellent! For the raisin version, I suggest adding a generous amount of cinnamon. The cherry/almond combination is wonderful. I also did a lemon/blueberry and a lemon/cranberry batch but definitely use fresh grated lemon rind along with lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
What a great recipe! I loved the simplicity of the recipe and the tasty results. The texture WASN'T dry and hard as a rock like some recipes; it was tender and relatively moist. I loved it! I followed the cranberry-orange recipe, except I didn't have any oranges that day so I substituted the zest of 1 lemon. YUMMY! I tried it again with orange zest a second time, but I found that I preferred the cranberry-lemon combo. Since then, I've found that cranberry-lemon plus 1 tsp. vanilla is also tasty, as is just lemon (zest) and 1 tsp vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
These are so good, and extremely versatile. I added dried cranberries and white chocolate chips, and they were fabulous! Will make these again & again. 12/29/08 addition--these are also fantastic with dried cherries and lime zest & chocolate chips and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States